A A A

Transferring from another State - Exam & Licensing Procedures

Within 90 days of relocating to Utah

Step 1: Cancel your license in previous resident state. We WILL NOT issue a resident license unless your previous license is inactive.

Step 2: Establish residency in Utah.

Step 3 : Go to a PSI test center during the fingerprint walk-in hours posted on PSI's website.

Step 4: Pay the $20 PSI processing fee, made payable by money order, cashier's check, company check, Visa or MasterCard.

Step 5: Apply for the license outline from your home or office at www.sircon.com/utah or www.nipr.com before arriving at the test center for fingerprinting. You can also apply online using a kiosk at the test center. Payment for both the license application fee and the FBI/BCI fingerprint fee ($16.50 FBI/$20 BCI) must be made by credit card during the online license application process.

Step 6: Upon completing the online application, print out the Sircon confirmation page as proof you have paid the FBI/BCI fees. Give the confirmation page to the test center proctor and your fingerprints will then be scanned.

Step 7: Fingerprint results will be returned to the Department. The Department will evaluate the results and the license application prior to issuing any license.

Step 8: Send proof of having established Utah residency, within the previous 90 days, via fax (801-538-3830), Attention: Kris Benavidez, or email it as an attachment to kbenavidez@utah.gov. This can be copy of your Utah driver's license, lease/rental agreement/ mortgage closing, or a utility bill showing the connection date. Utility bills include water/sewer, gas or electricity. Your name is required to be on the form of proof submitted.

* Electronic applications are generally processed within 5-10 business days once we have all required information (application, fees, and fingerprints completed). Please note research of the fingerprints may cause a delay. We are required to allow 30 days for BCI/FBI to process fingerprints. If it has been more than 10 working days, you may contact kbenavidez@utah.gov to inquire if additional information is needed.

Within 90- 365 days of relocating to Utah

Step 1: Cancel your license in previous resident state. We WILL NOT issue a resident license here unless your previous license is inactive.

Step 2: Establish residency in Utah.

Step 3: Register for the Utah Laws & Regulations exam appointment through PSI. You may register online at PSI or by calling 1-800-733-9267.

Step 4: Take and pass the Laws and Regulations exam.

Step 5: While at the testing center, apply for your license online through Sircon and pay the required fees. There are kiosks set up at PSI to complete the application. *PRINT THE RECEIPT AT THE END OF THE TRANSACTION, SHOWING THE CONFIRMATION NUMBER AND PROOF THAT FEES HAVE BEEN PAID. You will need this to be fingerprinted.

Step 6: Get fingerprinted before you leave the testing center.

Step 7: Send proof of having established Utah residency, within the previous 90 days, via fax (801-538-3830), Attention: Kris Benavidez or email it as an attachment to kbenavidez@utah.gov. This can be copy of your Utah driver's license, lease/rental agreement/ mortgage closing, or a utility bill showing the connection date. Utility bills include water/sewer, gas or electricity. Your name is required to be on the form of proof submitted.

* Electronic applications are generally processed within 5-10 business days once we have all required information (application, fees, and fingerprints completed). Please note research of the fingerprints may cause a delay. We are required to allow 30 days for BCI/FBI to process fingerprints. If it has been more than 10 working days, you may contact kbenavidez@utah.gov to inquire if additional information is needed.

* After 365 Days: Take the proper exams and apply as a first time applicant. Please see Exam and Licensing Procedures.