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Utah Stop-Loss Disclosure 
Insurer Information 

Insurer Legal Business Name 
 

Phone 
 

Today’s Date 

Street Address 
 

City 
 

State Zip 

Insured Information 

Employer Legal Business Name 
 

Stop Loss Contract Features 

Contract Type ____ / ____ Effective Date ___ /___ /_____ Termination Date ___ /___ /_____ 
Covered Employees *  Covered Lives*  

Specific Attachment Point $ 
Aggregate 
Attachment 
Point 

% 
(% of expected claims below specific att. Point) 

$ 
(Dollar equivalent of % of expected claims) 

 

Liability Exposure 

    
Monthly Cost† 

 
Contract Period 

Cost† 
Fixed Costs         
Specific Stop Loss Premium $   $   
Aggregate Stop Loss Premium $   $   
Other Fixed Fees (if any) $   $   
Subtotal Fixed Costs $   $   
Variable Costs         
Retained Claims Not Covered by Stop Loss     

Min $   $   
Expected $   $   
Max $   $   

Other Variable Fees (if any)     
Min $   $   
Expected $   $   
Max $   $   

     

Total Employer Outlay   
Monthly Cost† 

 
Contract Period 

Cost† 
(Including impact of Monthly Accommodation if supported)         

Min $   $   
Expected $   $   
Max $   $   

 
* Enrollment should be based on enrollment expected at the coverage effective date.  
†Monthly and Contract period Costs should be based on enrollment expected at the coverage effective date.   
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Utah Stop-Loss Disclosure 
Limitations on Coverage 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Description of Monthly Accommodations 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Description of Terminal Liability Funding 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Policy Summary 
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Utah Stop-Loss Disclosure Guidance  
The purpose of the Utah Stop-loss Disclosure form is to help a small employer make an informed decision about self-insuring major 
medical (medical, prescriptions, dental, vision, etc.) coverage with stop-loss insurance.  The disclosure form should provide enough 
information to the small employer that it can understand its expected and maximum liability under a self-insured arrangement with 
stop-loss insurance.  The disclosure is to be provided by a stop-loss insurer to a small employer prior to the effective date of a stop-
loss contract.  

The contract type is the period of coverage for stop-loss where the first number represents the number of calendar months covered 
and the second number represents the number of months covered plus the run out period.  For example, a contract starting 
1/1/2018 and ending 12/31/2018 with the ability to submit claims to the insurer for claims incurred during the contract and paid 
through 12/31/2019 would be a 12 / 24 contract.  Please note that the Utah Code §31A, Chapter 43, Small Employer Stop-Loss 
Insurance Act requires that the contract provide at least 12 months of coverage and 12 months of run out.  

Expenses associated with providing the stop-loss coverage (e.g. commissions, administrative expenses, risk profits, etc.) should be 
included in the “Other Fixed Fees” or “Other Variable Fees” fields of the “Liability Exposure” section.  

The “Total Employer Outlay” is to be calculated as Fixed Costs + {Min, Expected, or Max} Variable Costs.  For example, the Total 
Employer Outlay (Min) would be:  

 Total Employer Outlay (Min) = Subtotal Fixed Costs + Retained Claims Not Covered by Stop Loss (Min) + Other 
Variable Fees (if any) (Min)  

Sections “Limitations on Coverage,” “Description of Monthly Accommodations,” “Description of Terminal Liability Funding,” and 
“Policy Summary” can be populated with references to sections of a stop-loss contract or policy if the contract or policy is provided 
along with the disclosure form.  

“Limitations on Coverage” refers to any limitations on what will be paid by the stop-loss policy. For example, the stop-loss policy may 
have a per-person cap of $X million, or the employer group has purchased a fully insured transplant plan that is carved out of the 
stop-loss policy.  Any limitations should conform with Utah Code §31A-43-301(1)(d) which requires that the stop-loss plan benefit 
limitations and exclusions align with a small employer's health plan benefit limitations and exclusions. 

“Description of Monthly Accommodations” refers to any provisions to allow for partial payments under the aggregate coverage 
earlier than the end of the contract.  If no monthly accommodations are included in the policy, the description should state that 
aggregate coverage payments, if any, will be made at the end of the contract period. 

“Description of Terminal Liability Funding” refers to any provisions that extend the runout period of the specific and aggregate 
coverage beyond the regular contract period, usually in recognition of the group returning to a fully insured plan at the end of the 
contract period. 

“Policy Summary” should include a brief summary of material policy provisions that are helpful in understanding what is covered, 
but not explicitly described elsewhere in the stop-loss disclosure.  Examples include what major benefits apply to stop-loss (medical, 
rx, dental, vision),  any special policy provisions, a summary of riders or endorsements, if there is a lifetime maximum, any run-in 
period funding, or a description of what is included in variable fees.   

 

  

 

 

 

 

  


