GARY D. JOSEPHSON #5299

Assistant Attorney General

SEAN D. REYES #7969

Attorney General

Attorneys for Utah Insurance Department
160 East 300 South, Fifth Floor

P.O. Box 140874

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-0974
Telephone (801) 366-0375

BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

OF THE STATE OF UTAH
IN RE THE APPLICATION OF: STIPULATION AND ORDER

Mark E. Kleinfield
Applicant. Administrative Law Judge

The Utah Insurance Department (“Department™), by and through its legal counsel, Gary
D. Josephson, Assistant Attorney General, and Thomas Pitcher (“Applicant™), hereby stipulate

and agree as follows:

1. Applicant is making application for a Utah insurance license. Applicant’s address
i<
2. The Department has jurisdiction over the parties and subject matter of this

administrative action.
3. Applicant acknowledges notice of agency action pursuant to Utah Code §
63G-4-210; acknowledges that this Stipulation and Order is a formal proceeding pursuant to

Utah Code § 63G-4-204; and irrevocably waives the right to any hearing, review or appeal



concerning this matter.

4. If an administrative hearing were held, the Department could offer evidence of the
Findings of Fact presented below; therefore, the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law
presented below are accepted by the parties.

5. The issuance of a signed Order proposed below is solely for the purpose of the
disposing of the specific matter entitled herein.

6. The only promises, agreements and understandings that the parties have regarding
this matter are contained in this Stipulation.

7. Applicant enters into this Stipulation voluntarily, knowing and free from any

coercion of any kind.

8. The person signing this Stipulation on behalf of the named parties hereby affirm -

DATED this Zg ? ‘?‘}: day of ﬂf'&w.r? . 2015.

THOMAS N. PITCHER, Applicant

DATED this _ ;273"4" day of fZ[mun/{ 2015

Assistant Attorney General
Utah Insurance Department



Based upon the foregoing Stipulation and Department file, Administrative Law Judge

makes the following Findings of Fact:

FINDINGS OF FACT
1. In December 2014, Applicant applied for a State producer’s insurance license for
life, accident and health.
2. Applicant"s application for a life, accident and health insurance license was

denied based on an original $150,365.35 outstanding Utah State tax lien.

3. Applicant has now entered into a Month Pay Plan Agreement with the Utah State
Tax Commission; wherein, in addition to other terms and conditions, Respondent is to pay
$1,000.00 per month starting January 30, 2015. Respondent has made his initial January

payment.

Based upon the foregoing Stipulation and Findings of Fact, the Administrative Law
Judge enters the following Conclusions of Law:

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Under Utah Code Ann. § 31A-23a-11(5)(b)(xxii), an applicant that fails to pay
state income tax, or comply with an administrative or court order directing payment of state
income tax does not meet the character requirements for holding a Utah license. Applicant’s

tax status places him in violation of this statutory requirement.

Based upon the foregoing Findings and Conclusions, the following Order is entered:



ORDER
IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:
1. Applicant will be issued a life, accident and heaith State insurance producer’s
license by the Department.
2. Applicant will be on a 24 month probation starting from the date of the signing of
this Order. The terms of the probation are as follows:
(a) Applicant shall fully comply with the Month Pay Plan Agreement entéred
into with the Utah State Tax Commission until the State tax liability is fully satisfied.
(b) Applicant shall not violate any Utah insurance laws, administrative rules
or orders of the Commissioner.
(c) Applicant will file and pay all future taxes timely.
3. If Applicant violates his probaﬁon with the Department, his insurance license will

be immediately revoked.

.

DATED this -~ day of

, 2015.

TODD E. KISER
Insurance Commissioner

e

MARK E. KLEINFIELD, ESQ.
Administrative Law Judge
Utah Insurance Department
Room 3110, State Office Building
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Telephone (801) 538-3800
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NOTIFICATION

You aré hereby notified that a failure to obey an Order of the Commissioner may subject
you to further penalties, including forfeitures of up to $5,000.00 per violation and the suspension
or revocation of your license and the filing of an action in district court, which may impose
forfeitures of up to $10,000.00 per day for a continued violation.

You are further notified that other jurisdictions in which you may be licensed may require ‘

that you report this action to them.





