BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

OF THE STATE OF UTAH
UTAH INSURANCE DEPARTMENT, NOTICE OF INFORMAL AGENCY
ACTION AND ORDER
Complainant,
V.
STATEWIDE BAIL BONDING LLC, Docket No. 2018-021 BB
Enf. Case No. 3973
Respondent.
Lisa Watts Baskin, J.D.
Administrative Law Judge

The Utah Insurance Department (“Department™) commences this informal adjudicative
proceeding against Statewide Bail Bonding LLC (“Respondent™) pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §
31A-35-504.

Based upon the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause
appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner enters the following order:

ORDER

1. Respondent’s license no. 97876 is hereby revoked.

2, Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-7(I),‘
this informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become final
and take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is electronically
mailed to Respondent unless a request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent
prior to that date.

3. A request for a hearing shall be sent by electronic mail to

uidadmincases(@utah.pov or by U.S. mail to Utah Insurance Department, 3110 State Office




Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114. The request for hearing shall be signed by the person
making the request and shall state the basis for the relief requested.

4. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a
hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude any further
administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter.

DATED this_ 7.~ day of Y aseebi ,2018.

TODD E. KISER
Insurance Commissioner

fw Wt Bt len
LISA WATTS BASKIN, J.D.

Administrative Law Judge
Utah Insurance Department

NOTIFICATION TO RESPONDENT

Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include forfeitures of
up to $2,500 per violation, license suspension or revocation, further enforcement action before
the Utah District Court where forfeitures of up to $10,000 may be imposed. If you are licensed

in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report this proceeding to those jurisdictions.



DECLARATION

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Cathy Burton, declare the following:

L. I am currently employed as a market conduct examiner with the Utah Insurance
Department where my responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah insurance laws.

2. I submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Agency Action and
Order to which this Declaration is attached.

3. Based on my personal knowledge, based on the facts appearing in the
Department’s records and files, or based on the records of the Third District Court, Salt Lake
County, State of Utah, the following facts are true:

Al Respondent, Statewide Bail Bonding LLC, is a resident limited line producer
organization authorized to do the business of bail bond insurance in the State of Utah.
Respondent’s license number is 97876,

B. Respondent’s business address is 3350 S. 900 W., Salt Lake City, Utah 84119.

C. Respondent is the bail bond surety for the defendant in State of Utah v. Frank
Preston Carder, Case No. 161900714, Third District Court, Salt Lake County.

D. In that matter, a judgment forfeiting bail in the amount of $2,500 was entered
against Respondent on December 8, 2016.

E. Because Respondent failed to pay the forfeiture judgment, the Utah Insurance
Commissioner issued a Mandatory Order of Suspension against Respondent on January 2, 2018,
The Order was entered pursuant to Utah Code § 31A-35- 504(3). See Exhibit A, attached.

F More than 60 days have passed since the initial date of suspension on January 2,
2018.

G. As of this da:te, the Commissioner has not received written notice of payment of

the unpaid forfeiture from the prosecutor in State of Utah v. Frank Preston Carder.
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statutes:

As of this date, Respondent has not satisfied the forfeiture judgment.

Respondent’s bail bond producer license should be revoked under the following

“The commissioner shall commence an administrative proceeding and revoke the
license of an agency that fails to meet the conditions under Subsection (5) within
60 days following the initial date of suspension.” Utah Code Ann. § 31A-35-504
(6).

“The commissioner shall lift a suspension under Subsection (3) within five days
of the day on which all of the following conditions are met: (a) the suspension
has been in place for no fewer than 14 days; (b) the commissioner has received
written notice of payment of the unpaid forfeiture from the prosecutor; and (c) the
commissioner has received: (i) no other notice of any unpaid forfeiture from a
prosecutor; or (ii) if a notice of unpaid forfeiture is received, written notice from
the prosecutor that the unpaid forfeiture has been paid.” Utah Code Ann. § 31A-

35-504(5).

DATED: Manch b, 201 %

(b, Brusiron)

Cathy Burtdn)
Market Conduct Examiner
Utah Insurance Department




CERTIFICATE OF MAILING
The undersigned hereby certifies that on this date, a true and correct copy of the
foregoing NOTICE OF INFORMAL AGENCY ACTION AND ORDER AND
DECLARATION was regularly mailed and electronically mailed to the

following:

STATEWIDE BAIL BONDING LLC
3350 S900 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84119

Email: statewidebailbonding@gmail.com

Dated this /. day of 77/24/5 b ,2018

Utah Insurance Department
State Office Building, Room 3110
Salt Lake City, UT. 84114-6901
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MANDATORY ORDER
Effective January 2, 2018

Statewide Bail Bonding. LLC
3350 South 900 West

Salt Leke City, UT 84119
Attn: Tyrone Webber

BAIL BOND LICENSE SUSPENSION: FAILURE TO SATISFY BAIL BOND
FORTFEITURE JUDGMENT

Pursuant to Utah Code § § 31A-2-201(4) and 31 A-35-504(3), by Mandatory Order of the
Utah Insurance Commissioner, STATEWIDE BAIL BONDING. LLC, IS HERERY NOTIFIED
THAT ITS LICENSE TO CONDUCT ANY BAIL BOND BUSINESS IN THE STATE OF
UTAH IS HEREBY IMMEDIATELY SUSPENDED effective January 2, 2018 for a minimum
of fourteen (14) business days for failure to satisfy a bail bond fovfeiture judgment,

This Mandatory Order is based on the following points of fact and law:

1, On December 8, 2016, a bail bond forfeiture judgment of $2,500 was entered in
Criminal Case No. 161900714, Frank Preston Carder, Third District Court, Salt Lake

Department.

2. On December 20, 2017, after being notified by the Salt Lake District Attorney’s
Office, of the above-referenced bail bond forfeitures, the Department notified Statewide Bail
Bonding, LLC, of its legal responsibilities to satisfy the forfeiture judgment within five {5)

business days.

3, To date, the Utah Insurance Department has received no notice of satisfaction of
the above refercnced forfeiture judgment from the prosecutor’s office.

4. Statewide Bail Bonding, LLC, directly violated Utah Code § 31A-35-504(2)(b)
when it failed to satisfy the above referenced bail bond forfeiture judgment within five (5)
business days after receiving notice from the Department.

Based on the above referenced points of fact and law, again, under Utah Code § 31A-36-
504(3), the Commissioner is hereby immediately suspending the bail bend license of Statewide
Bail Bonding, LL.C, for a minimum of fourteen (14) business days for its failure to satisfy the
referenced outstanding bail bond forfeiture judgment. With the license suspension, the
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Department will be immediately inactivating the bail bond license and notifying the Utah Courts
of the license suspension and inactivation.

Pursuant to Utah Code § 31A-35-504(5) and (6), after fourteen days, the license
suspension shall be lifted within five (5) business days of satisfying all of the following
conditions: (a) the suspension has been in place for no fewer than 14 days; (b) the commissioner
has received written notice of payment of the unpaid forfeiture from the prosecutor; and (c) the
commissioner has received no other notice of any unpaid forfeiture from a prosecutor,

If the referenced bail bond forfeiture judgment remains unsatisfied for sixty (60) days
from this suspension date, the Department will commence an administrative proceeding to

revoke the license of Statewide Bail Bonding, LLC.

DATED this 5 day of January, 2018.

TODDE. KISER '
Insurance Commissioner-
Utah Insurance Department



CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this 3 day of January 2018, I caused the foregoing
MANDATORY ORDER: LICENSE SUSPENSION: FAILURE TO SATISFY BAIL

BOND FORFEITURE JUDGMENT to be both mailed, postage prepaid, and sent via

electronic mail, to the following:

STATEWIDE BAIL BONDING. LL.C
3350 SOUTH 900 WEST
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84119
ATTN: TYRONE WEBBER

statewidchailbonding@damail.com

(e, Bodou

Cathy Buyfpn

Market Conduct Examiner

Utah Insurance Department
State Office Building, Roem 311
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Telephone (801) 538-3800




