BEFORE THE UTAH INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

UTAH INSURANCE DEPARTMENT, NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION AND
ORDER
Complainant,

VS.
Docket No. 2018-4037
ERICA JO SANDBERG,

Lisa Watts Baskin
Respondent. Presiding Officer
NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION

The Utah Insurance Department (“the Department”) commences this agency action
against Respondent Erica Jo Sandberg (“Respondent™) pursuant to Utah Code §§ 31A-2-201 and
63G-4-201 through 63G-4-203 and to Utah Admin. Code R590-160.

This agency action is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and
is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-202(1) and
Utah Admin Code R590-160-4 and R590-160-7.

ORDER

Based on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause
appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows:

1. Respondent shall forfeit to the state the amount of $3,150.00 no later than 30 days
from the date of this Order. This requirement shall be vacated if Respondent pays $3,150.00 to

Tanya Gerace and provides proof of payment to the Department by the 30-day deadline.



2. Respondent’s producer license is placed on probation effective immediately. The
terms of probation are:

a. Respondent shall comply with paragraph | above.

b. Respondent shall have no other violations of the Utah Insurance Code, of the Utah
Insurance Department’s administrative rules, or of any order of the commissioner.

3. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-7(1), this
informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become final and
take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is electronically mailed to
Respondent unless a request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent prior to
that date.

4. A request for a hearing shall be sent by email to uidadmincases @utah.gov or by U.S.

mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah Insurance Department, 3110 State Office
Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114. The request for hearing shall be signed by the person
making the request and shall state the basis for the relief requested.

5. Unless a hearing is requested, Respondent will be bound by this Order. Failure to
request a hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude

any further administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter.



- N
DATED this_ /2~ day of "Lémb ,2018.

TODD E. KISER
Utah Insurance Commissioner

2 Wottitodkn

LISA WATTS BASKIN
Presiding Officer

Utah Insurance Department
3110 State Office Building
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
801-538-3800
uidadmincases @utah.gov




NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER

Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include forfeitures of
up to $2,500 per violation, license suspension or revocation, further enforcement action before
the Utah District Court where forfeitures of up to $10,000 may be imposed. If you are licensed

in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report this proceeding to those jurisdictions.



DECLARATION

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Cathy Burton, declare the following:

1. Tam currently employed as a market conduct examiner with the Utah Insurance
Department (“Department”) where my responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah
insurance laws.

2. I'submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Agency Action and
Order against Erica Jo Sandberg to which this Declaration is attached.

3. Respondent Erica Jo Sandberg currently holds an individual limited line producer bail
bond license issued by the Department.

4. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the
Department’s records and files, the following facts are true:

a. On March 25, 2018, Tanya Gerace (“Consumer”) contacted Respondent to secure the
release of Consumer’s son from jail with a bail bond.

b. Respondent agreed and immediately charged Consumer’s credit card $3,150.00.

¢. Respondent had no basis for charging this amount because the court had not set a bail
bond amount and Consumer’s son was not eligible for release on bond.

d. Three days later, while Consumer’s son was still in jail, the Court issued a no bail
arrest warrant for Consumer’s son.

e. Because the court never authorized Consumer’s son to be released on bond, and
because the son was never actually released on bond, Consumer asked Respondent to reverse the

credit card charge.



f. After delaying two months, Respondent told Consumer that she would not reverse the
charge because she had spent the money.

g. Consumer’s credit company has refused to reverse the charge.

h. After Consumer filed a complaint against Respondent with the Department, the
Department contacted Respondent twice by email and asked for her response to the complaint.

i. The Department contacted Respondent at ||| thc cmail address
supplied by Respondent as her current, valid email address pursuant to Utah Admin Code R590-
258-3.

j- Respondent did not respond to the Department’s emails, which were not returned as
undeliverable.

k. The Department unsuccessfully attempted to contact Respondent by telephone.

1. Based on her refusal to return Consumer’s money, Respondent has been charged with
felony theft in State of Utah v. Erica Jo Sandberg, Case No. 181100390 (First District Court,
Cache County).

4. The above-declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance law(s) were
not complied with:

a. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-35-603(2)(b) by failing to keep the cash
collateral separate from other funds.

b. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-35-603(3)(a) by failing to return the cash
collateral within 10 days of the return requested by the person who deposited it.

c. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-35-608(1)(i) by collecting money that was not

incurred in good faith.



d. Respondent violated Utah Code §31A-23a-402(1)(a)(i) by making a communication
relating to an insurance contract that contained false and misleading information.

e. Respondent violated Utah Admin. Code R590-186(7) by failing to return collateral
taken as security.

5. Based on the facts; and law set forth above, and based on enforcement cases with
Docket Nos. 2012-160LF, 2015-014LF and 2015-033LF, Respondent should forfeit to the state
the amount of $3,150.00 or return $3,150.00 to Consumer within 30 days. Additionally, the
Respondent’s producer license should be placed on probation for 24 months, during which time
Respondent should have no other violations of the Utah Insurance Code or Rules or any order of

the commissioner.

DATED this | dayof SL plembo 2018

Cathy Burton,/Market Conduct Examiner
Utah Insurance Department






