BEFORE THE UTAH INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

UTAH INSURANCE DEPARTMENT, NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION AND
ORDER
Complainant,
VSs.
Docket No. 2018-4042
NICHOLE RICHINS,
Lisa Watts Baskin
Respondent. Presiding Officer

NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION

The Utah Insurance Department (“the Department”) commences this agency action
against Respondent Nichole Richins (“Respondent”) pursuant to Utah Code §§ 31A-2-201 and
63G-4-201 through 203 and to Utah Admin. Code R590-160.

This agency action is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and
is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-202(1) and
Utah Admin Code R590-160-4 and 7.

ORDER

Based on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause
appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows:

1. Respondent’s application for an individual insurance license is denied.

2. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-7(1), this
informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become final and

take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is electronically mailed to



Respondent unless a request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent prior to
that date.

3. A request for a hearing shall be sent by email to uidadmincases @utah.gov or by U.S.

mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah Insurance Department, 3110 State Office
Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114. The request for hearing shall be signed by the person
making the request and shall state the basis for the relief requested.

4. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a
hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude any further

administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter.

U d \ﬁp ,J
DATED this g day of 7 )Ltmb , 2018.

TODD E. KISER
Utah Insurance Commissioner
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LISA WATTS BASKIN
Presiding Officer

Utah Insurance Department
3110 State Office Building
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
801-538-3800
uidadmincases @utah.gov




NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER

Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include forfeitures of
up to $2,500 per violation, license suspension or revocation, further enforcement action before
the Utah District Court where forfeitures of up to $10,000 may be imposed. If you are licensed

in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report this proceeding to those jurisdictions.



DECLARATION

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Randy Overstreet, declare the following:

1. Iam currently employed as Director of the Producer Licensing Division with the Utah
Insurance Department where my responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah
insurance laws.

2. Isubmit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Agency Action and
Order against Respondent Nichole Richins (“Respondent™) to which this Declaration is attached.

3. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the
Department’s records and files, the following facts are true:

a. On or about March 25, 2018, a charge was filed against Respondent for Retail

Theft, a Class B Misdemeanor, in Lindon City Justice Court, Utah County, State of

Utah.

b. On or about June 13, 2018, Respondent was initially arraigned in court on the
above charge.
c¢. On or about August 15, 2018, the Department electronically received from

Respondent an online application for a resident producer individual insurance license.

Respondent answered “no” to the criminal background question that asked, “Have you

ever been convicted of a misdemeanor, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you

currently charged with committing a misdemeanor?” and Respondent failed to report the

above criminal prosecution taken against her at the time of filing the license application.



d. On or about September 5, 2018, Respondent entered a guilty plea to the above
charge, with the plea held in abeyance for a period of 12 months until September 5,

2019.

4. The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utal insurance law(s) were
not complied with:
a. Utah Code Ann. § 31A-23a-105(2)(b)(ii) — failing to report at the time of filing
the license application a criminal prosecution taken against Respondent;
b. Utah Code Ann. § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)}(ix) — providing incorrect, misleading,
incomplete, or materially untrue informafion in the license application;
c. Utah Code Ann. § 31A-23a-107(2){(a)(ii) — failing to meet the trustworthy
character requirement; and
d. Utah Code Ann. § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(i) — ungualified for a license under Utah
Code Ann. § 31A-23a-104, 105 or 107.
5. Based on the facts and law set forth above Respondent’s application for an individual

insurance license should be denied.

DATED this 20" day of September, 2018,

6%,

Randy Overstréet, Director
Producer Licensing Division
Utah Insurance Department






