BEFORE THE UTAH INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

UTAH INSURANCE DEPARTMENT,
Complainant,
V.

COMPANION LIFE INSURANCE
COMPANY,

Respondent.

NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION AND
ORDER

Docket No. 2019-4097

Lisa Watts Baskin, JD
Presiding Officer

NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION

The Utah Insurance Department ("the Department") has commenced this informal

adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code Annotated §§ 31A-2-201 and 63G-4-201 through

203 and to Utah Admin. Code R590-160.

This agency action is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and

is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-202(1) and

Utah Admin. Code R590-160-4 and 7.

ORDER

Based on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and for good cause

appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows:

1. Respondent shall forfeit to the Department the amount of $750.00.

2. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(1) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-7(1), this

informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become

final and take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is



electronically mailed to Respondent unless a request for a hearing on this matter is
received from Respondent prior to that date.

3. A written request for a hearing shall be sent by email to uidadmincases @utah.gov or

by U.S. mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah Insurance Department,
3110 State Office Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114. The request for hearing shall
be signed by the person making the request and shall state the basis for the relief
requested.

4. If you fail to request a hearing, you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a
hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude

any further administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter.

o
DATED this 62 ¥ __ day of Febru y 2019,

TODD E. KISER
Utah Insurance Commissioner

LISA WATTS BASKIN
Presiding Officer

Utah Insurance Department
3110 State Office Building
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
801-538-3890
uidadmincases @utah.gov




NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER

Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include forfeitures of
up to $2,500 per violation, license suspension or revocation or further enforcement action before
the Utah District Court where forfeitures of up to $10,000 may be imposed. If you are licensed

in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report this proceeding to those jurisdictions.



DECLARATION

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Brent D. Oscarson, declare the following:

I. Iam currently employed as an Insurance Analyst with the Utah Insurance Department
(“the Department”) where my responsibilities include investigating and enforcing
Utah insurance laws.

2. I'submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Agency Action and
Order against Companion Life Insurance Company to which this Declaration is
attached.

3. Based on my personal knowledge and based on the facts appearing in the
Department’s records and files, the following facts are true:

a. Respondent is an insurer domiciled in the State of South Carolina and authorized
to do the business of insurance in the State of Utah, Utah Company Identification
No. 1129,

b. Respondent is an insurer that markets Medicare Supplement Policies and was
required, under Utah Administrative Code Rule R590-146 and Bulletin 2007-3, to
electronically file its Annual Filing of Premium Rates, its Refund Calculation and
Benchmark Ratio, and its Report of Multiple Policies before May 3 1st of each
year.

c. Respondent failed to electronically file its Annual Filing of Premium Rates, its
Refund Calculation and Benchmark Ratio, and its Report of Multiple Policies on

or before May 31, 2018.



4. The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance law(s) were

not complied with:

a.

Respondent failed to electronically file its Annual Filing of Premium Rates, its
Refund Calculation and Benchmark Ratio, and its Report of Multiple Policies on
or before May 31, 2018.

In failing to electronically file its Annual Filing of Premium Rates on or before
May 31, 2018, Respondent violated Utah Admin. Code Rule R590-146-
14(CY(1)(b).

In failing to electronically file its Refund Calculation and Benchmark Ratio on or
before May 31, 2018, Respondent violated Utah Admin. Code Rule
R590-146-14(B)(1)(a) through (c).

In failing to electronically file its Report of Multiple Policies on or before May
31, 2018, Respondent violated Utah Admin. Code Rule R590-146-22(A).
Pursuant to Utah Code Annotated § 31A-2-308(1)(b)(ii), the commissioner may
impose an administrative forfeiture on an insurer of up to $5,000.00 for each
violation of the Utah Insurance Code.

Based on the facts and law set forth above, Respondent should forfeit $750.00 to

the Department within 30 days of this order.

DATED this 2 " dayof TEBRUARY 1019
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Brent Oscarson, Insurance Analyst
Utah Insurance Department






