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NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION

The Utah Insurance Department (“the Department”) commences this agency action
against Respondent Michael W. Hodson (“Respondent”) pursuant to Utah Code §§ 31A-2-201
and 63G-4-201 through 203 and to Utah Admin. Code R5%0-160.

This agency action is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and
is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-202(1) and
Utah Admin Code R590-160-4 and 7.

ORDER
Based on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause

appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows:



1. Respondent’s application for a resident limited line producer individual insurance
license is denied.

2. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-7(1), this
informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become final and
take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is emailed to Respondent
unless a request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent prior to that date.

3. A request for a hearing shall be sent by email to uidadmincases@utah.gov or by U.S.
mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah Insurance Department, 3110 State Office
Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114. The request for hearing shall be signed by the person
making the request and shall state the basis for the relief requested.

4. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a
hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude any further
administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter.

JE
DATED this / day of 7?75";/ } J6¢ (f .

TODD E. KISER
Utah Insurance Commissioner

L b

LISA WATTS BASKIN
Presiding Officer

Utah Insurance Department
3110 State Office Building

Salt Lake City, UT 84114
801-538-3800

Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov




NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER

Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include forfeitures of
up to $2,500 per violation, license suspension or revocation, further enforcement action before
the Utah District Court where forfeitures of up to $10,000 may be imposed. If you are licensed

in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report this proceeding to those jurisdictions.



DECLARATION

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Randy Overstreet, declare the following:

1. 1am currently employed as Director of the Producer Licensing Division with the Utah
Insurance Department where my responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah
insurance laws.

2. 1 submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Agency Action and
Order against Michael W. Hodson (“Respondent™) to which this Declaration is attached.

3. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the
Department’s records and files, the following facts are true:

a. On November 9, 2018, the Department received an online license application from

Respondent for a resident limited line producer individual insurance license.

Respondent answered “yes” to the question that asked whether he had ever been

convicted of a felony. Respondent answered “no” to the question that asked whether he

had ever been convicted of a misdemeanor.

b. On August 22, 2005, Respondent was convicted of issuing a bad check $1000 -

$5000, a third degree felony. Case no. 041905847, State of Utah vs. Michael W.

Hodson.

¢. On August 22, 2005, Respondent was convicted of issuing a bad check $1000 -

$5000, a third degree felony. Case no. 041905844, State of Utah vs. Michael W.

Hodson.

d. On August 22, 2005, Respondent was convicted of communications fraud, a second

degree felony. Case no. 041905840, State of Utah vs. Michael W. Hodson.



e. On August 22, 2005, Respondent was convicted of communications fraud, a second
degree felony. Case no. 041905839, State of Utah vs. Michael W. Hodson.

f. On August 22, 2005, Respondent was convicted two counts of illegal possession/use
of controlled substance, a third degree felony. Case no. 051902403, State of Utah vs.

Michael William Hodson.

g. On January 14, 2008, Respondent was convicted of possession of drug paraphernalia,
a class B misdemeanor. Case no. 071700168, State of Utah v. Michael W. Hodson.

h. On November 21, 2018 and March 4, 2018, I informed Respondent by email of the
requirement to obtain written consent of the insurance commissioner due to having a
felony conviction on record involving dishonesty or breach of trust. 1 also emailed
instructions to Respondent on how to apply for this written consent and informed him
that the Department would be unable to issue a license without this written consent.

4. The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance laws were not
complied with:

a. Utah Code Ann. § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xiv)(A), convicted of a felony;

b. Utah Code § 31A-23A-111(5)(b) authorizes the Commissioner to act in compliance
with the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, 18 U.S.C. § 1033. Having
been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or breach of trust and having failed to obtain
from the Commissioner the required writien consent to engage or participate in the business of
insurance, Respondent is prohibited from engaging in the business of insurance pursuant to Utah

Code § 31A-2-308 and 18 U.S.C. § 1033()(2).



¢. Utah Code Ann. § 31A-23a-105(2)(b)(i1}, failing to report at the time of filing the
license application a misdemeanor criminal prosecution taken against Respondent;

d. Utah Code Ann. § 31A-23a-111{5){(b)(ix), providing incorrect, misleading, or
materially untrue information in the license application by answering “no” to the question
regarding being convicted of a misdemeanor;,

g. Utah Code Ann. § 31A-23a-107(2)(a)(ii), failing to meet the trustworthy character
requirement; and

f. Utah Code Ann. § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(1), unqualified for a license under Utah Code

Ann § 31A-23a-104, 105, or 107.

5. Based on the facts and law set forth above, Respondent®s application for an individual

insurance license should be denied.

DATED this ?’/}} day of /?7"’7‘/’, 20 /?.

Gt ST

Randy Overstreet, Director
Producer Licensing Division
Utal Insurance Department






