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NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION

The Utah Insurance Department (“the Department™) commences this agency action
against Respondent Jason Hanks (“Respondent™) pursuant to Utah Code §§ 31A-2-201 and 63G-

4-201 through 203 and to Utah Admin. Code R590-160.

This agency action is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and
is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-202(1) and

Utah Admin Code R590-160-4 and 7.
ORDER

Based on the facts and the law set forth in the aftached Declaration, and good cause

appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows:



1. Respondent’s application for a resident producer individual insurance license is
denied.

2. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-7(1), this
informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become final and
take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is emailed to Respondent
unless a request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent prior to that date.

3. A request for a hearing shall be sent by email to uidadmincases@utah.gov or by U.S.

mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah Insurance Department, 3110 State Office
Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114. The request for hearing shall be signed by the person

making the request and shall state the basis for the relief requested.

4. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a
hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude any further

administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter.

DATED this ﬂ:—’ﬁray of W%; W19 .

TODD E. KISER
Utah Insurance Commissioner

LISA"'WATTS BASKIN
Presiding Officer

Utah Insurance Department
3110 State Office Building

Salt Lake City, UT 84114
801-538-3800

Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov



NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER

Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include forfeitures of
up to $2,500 per violation, license suspension or revocation, further enforcement action before
the Utah District Court where forfeitures of up to $10,000 may be imposed. If you are licensed

in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report this proceeding to those jurisdictions.



DECLARATION

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Randy Overstreet, declare the following:

1. I am currently employed as Director of the Producer Licensing Division with the Utah
Insurance Department where my responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah
insurance laws.

2. 1 submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Agency Action and
Order against Jason Hanks (“Respondent”) to which this Declaration is attached.

3. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the
Department’s records and files, the following facts are true:

a. On November 27, 2018, the Department received an online license application from

Respondent for a resident producer individual insurance license.

b. Respondent answered “yes” to the questions that asked whether he had ever been

convicted of a felony and whether he had ever been convicted of a misdemeanor.

¢. On October 5, 1993, Respondent was convicted of burglary of a vehicle, a class A

misdemeanor.

d. On May 18, 1994, Respondent was convicted of theft, a third degree felony.

e. On November 7, 1994, Respondent was convicted of attempted theft, a third degree

felony.

f. On July 16, 2018, a state income tax lien in the amount of $435.24 was entered

against Respondent. This continues to be an outstanding judgment.

g. On December 12, 2018 and March 4, 2018, I informed Respondent by email of the

requirement to obtain written consent of the insurance commissioner due to having a



felony conviction on record involving dishonesty or breach of trust. I also emailed
instructions to Respondent on how to apply for this written consent and informed him
that the Department would be unable to issue a license without this written consent.

4, The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance laws were not
complied with:

a. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)}(xiv)(A), convicted of a felony;

b. Utah Code § 31A-23A-111(5)(b) authorizes the Commissioner to act in compliance
with the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, 18 U.8.C. § 1033. Having
been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or breach of trust and having failed to obtain
from the Commissioner the required written consent to engage or participate in the business of
insurance, Respondent is prohibited from engaging in the business of insurance pursuant to Utah
Code § 31A-2-308 and 18 U.S.C. § 1033(e)(2);

¢. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xiv}(B), convicted of a misdemeanor involving fraud,

misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty,

d. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(iv), failing to pay a final judgment rendered against

Respondent in this state.

5. Based on the facts and law set forth above, Respondent’s application for a resident

producer individual license should be denied.
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Randy Overstreef, Director
Producer Licensing Division
Utah Insurance Department
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