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NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION

The Utah Insurance Department (“the Department™) commences this agency action
against Respondent Dean M. Betz (“Respondent”) pursuant to Utah Code §§ 3 1A-2-201 and
63G-4-201 through 203 and to Utah Admin. Code R590-160.

This agency action is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and
is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-202(1) and
Utah Admin Code R590-160-4 and 7.

ORDER
Rased on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause

appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows:



1. Respondent’s application for a resident limited line producer individual insurance
license is denied.

2. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-7(1), this
informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become final and
take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is emailed to Respondent

unless a request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent prior to that date.

3. A request for a hearing shall be sent by email to uidadmincases@utah.gov or by U.S.
mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah Insurance Department, 3110 State Office
Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114. The request for hearing shall be signed by the person
making the request and shall state the basis for the relief requested.

4. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a
hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude any further

administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter.

o
DATED this 22 day of

TODD E. KISER
Utah Insurance Commissioner

/ﬁ;uJ.pm%..L

LISA WATTS BASKIN
Presiding Officer

Utah Insurance Department
3110 State Office Building

Salt Lake City, UT 84114
801-538-3800

Email: vidadmincases@utah.gov




NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER

Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include forfeitares of
up to $2,500 per violation, license suspension or revocation, further enforcement action before
the Utah District Court where forfeitures of up to $10,000 may be imposed. If you are licensed

in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report this proceeding to those jurisdictions.



DECLARATION

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Randy Overstreet, declare the following:

1. I am currently employed as Director of the Producer Licensing Division with the Utah
Insurance Department where my responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah
insurance laws.

2. 1 submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Agency Action and
Order against Dean M. Betz (“Respondent™) to which this Declaration is attached.

3. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the
Department’s records and files, the following facts are true:

a. On December 18, 2018, the Department received an online license application from

Respondent for a resident limited line producer individual insurance license.

b. Respondent answered “no” to the question that asked whether he had ever been

convicted of a felony and “no” to the question that asked whether he had ever been

convicted of a misdemeanor.

c. On November 7, 1990, Respondent was convicted of theft, a class B misdemeanor.

d. On August 17, 1992, Respondent was convicted of theft, a third degree felony.

e. On September 30, 1998, Respondent was convicted of theft of mislaid/lost/mistaken

propetty, a third degree felony.

f. On January 13, 2000, Respondent was convicted of DUI, a third degree felony.

g. On September 30, 2010, Respondent was convicted of DUI, a third degree felony.

h. On October 20, 2014, Respondent was convicted of DUI, a third degree felony.



i. On October 4, 2011, a monetary judgment was entered against Respondent in the
among of $692.97. This continues to be an outstanding case.

j. On November 17, 2014, a state tax lien judgment was entered against Respondent in

the amount of $431.85. This continues to be an outstanding judgment.

k. On December 19, 2016, a state tax lien judgment was entered against Respondent in
the amount of $731.32. This continues to be an outstanding judgment.

I. On February 4, 2019, a monetary judgment was entered against Respondent in the
amount of $3,416.99. This continues to be an outstanding judgment.

m. On January 3, 2019, and March 4, 2019, [ informed Respondent by email of the
requirement (o oblain written consent of the insurance commissioner due to having a
felony conviction on record involving dishonesty or breach of trust. 1 also emailed
instructions to Respondent on how to apply for this written consent and informed him
(hat the Department would be unable to issuc a license without this written consent.

4. The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance laws were not
complied with:

a. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xiv)(A), convicted of a felony;

b. Utah Code § 31A-23A-111(5)(b) authorizes the Commissioner to act in compliance
with the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, 18 U.S.C. § 1033. Having
been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or breach of trust and having failed to obtain
from the Commissioner the required written consent to engage or participate in the business of
insurance, Respondent is prohibited from engaging in the business of insurance pursuant to Utah

Code § 31A-2-308 and 18 U.S.C. § 1033(e)(2);



c. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xiv)(B), convicted of a misdemeanor involving fraud,
misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty;

d. Utah Code § 31A-23a-105(2)(b)(ii), failing to report at the time of filing the license
application a criminal prosecution taken against Respondent;

e. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(ix), providing incorrect, misleading, or materially
untrue information in the license application by answering “no” to the background questions
regarding having ever been convicted of a misdemeanor and having ever been convicted of a

felony;

f. Utah Code § 31A-232-107(2)(a)(ii), failing to meet the trustworthy character
requirement;

g. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xxii}, failing to pay state income tax or comply with
an administrative or court order directing payment of state income tax;

h. Utah Code § 31A-23u-111(5)(b){iv) by failing to pay a final judgment rendered
against Respondent in this state within 60 days after the day on which the judgment became

final;

i. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(i), unqualified for a license under Utah Code § 31A-~

23a-104, 105, or 107.

5, Based on the facts and law set forth above, Respondent’s application for a resident

{imited line producer individual license should be denied.

Th
DATED this /7 day of /%43‘?, M/? .

Randy Overstreety Director
Producer Licensing Division
Utah Insurance Department





