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NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION

The Utah Insurance Department (“the Department”) commences this agency action
against Respondent Jennifer Holcomb (“Respondent”) pursuant to Utah Code §§ 31A-2-201 and
63G-4-201 through -203 and to Utah Admin. Code R590-160.

This agency action is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and
is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-202(1) and
Utah Admin Code R590-160-4 and -8.

ORDBER
Rased on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause

appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows:



1. Respondent’s application for a Utah resident producer individual insurance license is
denied.

2. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-8(1), this
informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become final and
take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is emailed to Respondent
unless a request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent prior to that date.

3. A request for a hearing shall be sent by email to uidadmincases@utah.gov or by U.S.

mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah Insurance Department, 3110 State Office
Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114. The request for hearing shall be signed by the person
making the request and shall state the basis for the relief requested.

4. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a
hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude any further

administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter.

DATED this /2 'gday of o veméuaoﬂbﬁ .

TODD E. KISER
Utah Insurance Commissioner
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LISA WATTS BASKIN
Presiding Officer

Utah Insurance Department
3110 State Office Building

Salt Lake City, UT 84114
801-538-3800

Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov




NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER

Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include forfeitures of
up to $2,500 per violation, license suspension or revocation, further enforcement action before
the Utah District Court where forfeitures of up to $10,000 may be imposed. If you are licensed

in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report this proceeding to those jutisdictions.



DECLARATION

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Randy Overstreet, declare the following:

1. Tam currently employed as Director of the Producer Licensing Division with the Utah
Insurance Department where my responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah
insurance laws.

2. T submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Agency Action and
Order against Jennifer Holcomb (“Respondent™) to which this Declaration is attached.

3. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the
Department’s records and files, the following facts are true:

a. On September 19, 2019, the Department received an online license application from

Respondent {for a resident producer individual insurance license.

b. Respondent answered “no” to the background question that asked whether he had

ever been convicted of a misdemeanor, “yes” to the question that asked whether she had

ever been convicted of a felony, “yes” to the question that asked whether she had a child
support obligation in arrearage, and “yes” to the question that asked whether she was
subject to and in compliance with any repayment agreement.

¢. On January 29, 2010, Respondent was convicted of attempted public assistance fraud,

a third degree felony. Responded was placed on probation for 36 months and on July

15, 2011, her probation was extended for an additional 36 months. The case was closed

on March 31, 2016.

d. On December 12, 2011, a monetary judgment was entered against Respondent in the

amount of $1,144.06. This continues to be an outstanding judgment.



e. On or about September 20, 2016, Respondent was convicted of giving false personal
identity to peace officer, a class C misdemeanor, for which she was ordered to pay a
fine. This continues to be an outstanding case.

f. OnJune 17, 2019, a monetary judgment was entered against Respondent in the
amount of $502.72. This continues to be an outstanding judgment.

g. On April 21, 2010, a paperless child support lien was filed and a monetary judgment
entered against Respondent in the amount of $2,054.00. As of October 16, 2019, this
continues to be an outstanding child support obligation with a remaining judgment
amount of $14,707.80.

h. Respondent has not obtained written consent as required by 18 U.5.C. §1033(e}2).

4. The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance laws were not
complied with:

a. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b) authorizes the Commissioner to act in compliance
with the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, 18 U.S.C. § 1033. Having
been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or breach of trust and having failed to obtain
from the Commissioner the required written congent to engage or participate in the business of
insurance, Respondent is prohibited from engaging in the business of insurance pursuant to Utah
Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b) and 18 U.S.C. § 1033({e)}(2);

b. Utah Code Ann. § 31A-23a-111(5)}(b)}(xiv}(A), convicted of a felony;

¢. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5}b)(xiv)(B), convicted of a misdemeanor involving fraud,

misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty;



d. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)b)(ix), providing incorrect, misleading, or materially
untrue information in the license application by answering “no” to the question regarding ever
having been convicted of a misdemeanor;

e. Utah Code § 31A-23a-105(2)(b)(i), failing to report at the time of filing the license
application a criminal prosecution taken against Respondent;

f. Utah Code § 31A-23a-107(2)(a)(i1), failing to meet the trustworthy character
requirement;

g. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(iv), failing to pay a final judgment rendered against
Respondent in this state within 60 days after the day on which the judgment became final;

h. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5Xb)(xx1), failing to comply with an administrative or
court order imposing a child support obligation;

1. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)b){i), being unqualified for a license under Utah Code §
31A-23a-104, 105 or 107;

j. Utah Admin. Code R590-281-4(1)(c), by applying for a license prior to the end of the
required time period from the date Respondent was convicted or released from incarceration,
parole, or probation, whichever occurred last, resulting from a felony or misdemeanor conviction
involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty; and

k. Utah Admin. Code R590-281-4(3)(a). by applying for a license without first obtaining

written consent from the Commissioner to engage or participate in the business of insurance.



5, Based on the facts and law set forth above, Respondent’s application for a resident
producer individual license should be denied.

6. On September 30, 2019, via letter, I notified Respondent that due to her felony
conviction, which involved dishonesty and/or breach of trust, federal law prohibited her from
engaging in the business of insurance without the Utah Insurance Commissioner’s written
consent, and that failure to obtain the Commissioner’s writlen consent was grounds for denying
Respondent’s license application. Iidentified the form Respondent needed to fil] out and file
with the Department to obtain the Commissioner’s written consent and provided her with a link

to the form on the Department’s website.

7
Signed on this / A day of /\/ﬂV&ffffﬁét 2019, at Salt Lake City, Utah.
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Randy Oversérect, Director
Producer Licensing Division
Utah Insurance Department




