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NOTICE OF INFORMAL ADJUDICATIVE PROCEEDING

The Utah Insurance Department (“the Department®) commences this informal
adjudicative proceeding against Respondent Kristen Cayias (“Respondent™) pursuant to Utah
Code §§ 31A-2-201 and 63G-4-201 through -203 and to Utah Admin. Code R590-160.

This informal adjudicative proceeding is based on the facts and law set forth in the
attached Declaration and is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah
Code § 63G-4-202(1) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-4 and -8.

ORDER

Based on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause

appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows:



]. Respondent’s application for a Utah resident producer individual insurance license is
denied.

2. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-8(1), this
informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become final and
take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Informal Adjudicative Proceeding and Order is
emailed to Respondent unless a request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent

prior to that date.

3. A request for a hearing shall be sent by email to uidadmincases(@utah.gov or by U.S.

mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah Insurance Department, 3110 State Office
Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114. The request for hearing shall be signed by the person
making the request and shall state the basis for the relief requested.

4. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a
hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude any further

administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter.

tln -
DATED this Zé ~ day of g7 {at &b . 2020.

TODD E. KISER
Utah Insurance Commissioner

L entuck
LISA WATTS BASKIN
Presiding Officer
Utah Insurance Department
3110 State Office Building
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
801-538-3860

Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov




NOTICE REGARBING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER

Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include forfeitures of
up to $2,500 per violation, license suspension or revocation, and/or further enforcement action
before the Utah District Court where forfeitures of up to $10,000 may be imposed. If you are
licensed in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report this proceeding to those

jurisdictions.



DECLARATION

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, 1, Randy Overstreet, declare the following:

1. 1 am currently employed as the manager of Producer Licensing in the Financial
Regulation & Licensing Division of the Utah Insurance Department (the “Department”) where
my responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah insurance laws.

2. I submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Informal Adjudicative
Proceeding and Order against Kristen Cayias (“Respondent™) to which this Declaration 1s
attached.

3. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the
Department’s records and files, the following facts are true:

a. On November 18, 2019, the Department received an online license application
from Respondent for a resident producer individual insurance license.

i. Respondent answered “Yes” to the criminal background question that
asked, “Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor, had a judgment
withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged with committing a
misdemeanor?”’

ii. Respondent answered “No” to the criminal background question that
asked, “Have you ever been convicted of a felony, had a judgment withheld or
deferred, or are you currently charged with committing a felony?”

b. On May 3, 2008, Respondent was convicted of violating Utah Code § 76-6-

501, Forgery, a 3rd Degree Felony, amended to a Class A Misdemeanor; and Utah Code

§ 76-6-405, Theft by Deception, a Class A Misdemeanor, in the Third District Court,

West Jordan, Salt Lake County, State of Utah.



¢. On May 27, 2008, Respondent entered guilty pleas to the following charges:
two counts of violating Utah Code § 76-6-506.3, Unlawful Acquisition/Possess/Transfer-
Card, a 3rd Degree Felony; one count of violating Utah Code § 76-6-1105, Possession of
Another’s Identifying Documents, a Class A Misdemeanor; and one count of violating
Utah Code § 76-6-602, Retail Theft (Shoplifting), a Class B Misdemeanor, in the Third
District Court, Salt Lake, Salt Lake County, State of Utah. Respondent’s guilty pleas
were held in abeyance.

d. On February 14, 2017, a monetary judgment in the amount of $1.190.09 was
entered against Respondent in the Fourth District Court, American Fork, Utah County,
State of Utah. Based upon the court documents that I have reviewed, this judgment
remains outstanding.

e. On July 22, 2019, a monetary judgment in the amount of $1,197.90 in favor of
the Utah State Tax Commission was entered against Respondent in the Fourth District
Court, Provo, Utah County, State of Utah. Based upon the court documents that | have
reviewed, this judgment/tax lien remains outstanding.

4, The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance laws were not
complied with:

a. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xiv)(A), being convicted of a felony.

b. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)}, authorizing the Utah Insurance
Commissioner (“Commissioner™) to act in compliance with the Violent Crime Control
and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, 18 U.S.C. § 1033. Respondent, having been
convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or breach of trust and having failed to obtain

from the Commissioner the required written consent to engage or participate in the



business of insurance, is prohibited from engaging in the business of insurance pursuant
to Utah Code § 31A-23a-11 1{(5){(b)(xxv} and 18 U.S.C. § 1033(e){(2).

¢. Utah Code § 31A-23a-107(2){a)(i1), failing to meet the trustworthy character
requirement.

d. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)b)(i), unqualified for a ficense under Utah Code
§ 31A-23a-104, -105, or -107.

e. Utah Admin. Code R390-281-4(3)(a), applying for a license without first
obtaining written consent fror the Utah Insurance Commissioner to engage or participate
in the business of insurance.

f. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(iv), failing to pay a final judgment rendered
against Respondent in this State within 60 days after the day on which the judgment was
entered.

g. Utah Code § 31A-23a-117(5)(b)(xxii), failing to pay State income tax, or to
comply with an administrative or court order directing payment of State income tax,

5. Based on the facts and law set forth above, Respondent’s application for a Utah

resident producer individual insurance license should be denied.

7h g
Signed on this /ﬁ day of ﬂ;ﬁ/\/A . 20620, at Salt Lake City, Utah,

ST

Randy Overstreet

Manager, Producer Licensing

Financial Regulation & Licensing Division
Utah Insurance Department






