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Presiding Officer

Respondent.

Complainant, Utah Insurance Department (“Department”) and Respondent, The Union
Labor Life Insurance Company (“Respondent”), have stipulated to entry of the following
Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order. Based upon that stipulation, and good cause
appearing, the Presiding Officer makes and enters the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Respondent is an insurer domiciled in Maryland and is authorized to do insurance
business in Utah under license number 758.

2. Respondent’s mailing address is The Union Labor Life Insurance Company, 8403

Colesville Road, Silver Spring, Maryland, 20910.



3. Respondent markets and sells group life, accidental death and dismemberment, loss of
time, and medical stop loss insurance products to Taft-Hartley funds and union employers.

4. Respondent markets and sells supplemental term life, accidental death and
dismemberment, and hospital accident and indemnification certificates of insurance to union
members.

5. In 2019, Respondent marketed, sold, and administered six (6) different supplemental
insurance products to Utah residents.

6. Respondent had not filed forms for those six (6) supplemental insurance products with
the Department.

7. In 2019, ninety-three (93) Utah union members were covered under certificates of
insurance for those insurance products.

8. Respondent had not filed certificates of insurance with the Department for those
supplemental insurance products that it marketed, sold, and administered to the ninety-three (93)
Utah union members.

9. On May 21, 2020, the Department and Respondent agreed to an administrative
forfeiture of $29,250.00 (TWENTY-NINE THOUSAND AND TWO HUNDRED AND FIFTY
DOLLARS).

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Utah Insurance Commissioner (“Commissioner”) has jurisdiction over the parties
and this adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code §§ 31A-1-105 and 31A-2-201.

2. The Commissioner has legal authority to impose penalties on the Department’s

licensees who violate the Utah Insurance Code. See Utah Code § 31A-2-308.



3. Utah Code § 31A-21-201(1)(a) requires that a form be filed with the Commissioner
before it may be used, sold, or offered for sale. Respondent violated this statutory requirement
by failing to file forms with the Commissioner prior to issuing certificates of insurance.

4. Utah Admin. Code R590-220-5(2) imposes responsibility on a licensee and filer for
assuring that a filing is in compliance with Utah laws and rules; and provides that licensees and
filers of non-compliant filings are subject to regulatory action under Utah Code § 31A-2-308.
Pursuant to this administrative rule, Respondent is subject to regulatory action for failing to file
compliant forms with the Commissioner prior to issuing certificates of insurance.

5. As a penalty for the violations in this case, Respondent should be ordered to pay a
forfeiture of $29,250.00 (TWENTY-NINE THOUSAND AND TWO HUNDRED AND FIFTY
DOLLARS).

ORDER

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, it is hereby Ordered
that:

1. Respondent shall pay a forfeiture of $29,250.00 (TWENTY-NINE THOUSAND
AND TWO HUNDRED AND FIFTY DOLLARS) for the violations described in the

Conclusions of Law.



2. Respondent is ordered not to commit the violations described in the Conclusions of

Law in the future.

H —
DATED this_ 9 day of Vufy , 2020.

TODD E. KISER
Utah Insurance Commissioner

\Z{L U/l 525/[ lie
Lisa Watts Baskin
Presiding Officer

Utah Insurance Department




NOTICE TO RESPONDENT
You are hereby notified that a failure to obey an Order of the Commissioner may subject
you to further penalties, including forfeitures of up to $5,000 per violation and the suspension or
revocation of your license and the filing of an action in district court, which may impose
forfeitures of up to $10,000 per day for continued violation. You are further notified that other

jurisdictions in which you may be licensed may require that you report this action to them.



