HELEN A. FROHLICH #8814

Assistant Attorney General

SEAN D. REYES #7969

Attorney General

Attorneys for Utah Insurance Department
160 East 300 South, 5th Floor

P.O. Box 140874

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-0874
Telephone: (801)366-0375

Email: hfrohlich@agutah.gov

BEFORE THE UTAH INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

UTAH INSURANCE DEPARTMENT, NOTICE OF INFORMAL
ADJUDICATIVE PROCEEDING AND

Complainant, ORDER
Vs.
LAWRENCE MILLER, Docket No. 2020-4225
Respondent. Lisa Watts Baskin

Presiding Officer

NOTICE OF INFORMAL ADJUDICATIVE PROCEEDING

The Utah Insurance Department (“the Department”) commences this informal
adjudicative proceeding against Respondent Lawrence Miller (“Respondent™) pursuant to Utah
Code §§ 31A-2-201 and 63G-4-201 through -203 and to Utah Admin. Code R590-160.

This agency action is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and
is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-202(1) and
Utah Admin Code R590-160-4 and -8.

ORDER
Based on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause

appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows:



1. Respondent’s application for a Utah resident producer individual insurance license is
denied.

2. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-8(1), this
informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become final and
take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Informal Adjudicative Proceeding and Order is
emailed to Respondent unless a request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent
prior to that date.

3. A request for a hearing shall be sent by email to uidadmincases(@utah.gov or by U.S.

mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah Insurance Department, 3110 State Office
Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114. The request for hearing shall be signed by the person
making the request and shall state the basis for the relief réquested.

4. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a
hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude any further

administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter.

ot
DATED this /8~ day of%Lu.u_ , 2020.

TODD E. KISER
Utah Insurance Commissioner

%@4 WaTt Baslein
LIS ATTS BASKIN

Presiding Officer

Utah Insurance Department
3110 State Office Building

Salt Lake City, UT 84114
801-538-3860

Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov




NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER

Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include forfeitures of
up to $2,500 per violation, license suspension or revocation, further enforcement action before
the Utah District Court where forfeitures of up to $10,000 may be imposed. If you are licensed

in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report this proceeding to those jurisdictions.



DECLARATION

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Randy Overstreet, declare the following:

1. I am currently employed as Manager of Producer Licensing in the Financial
Regulation & Licensing Division with the Utah Insurance Department (“Department”) where my
responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah insurance laws.

2. I'submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Informal Adjudicative
Proceeding and Order against Lawrence Miller (“Respondent™) to which this Declaration is
attached.

3. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the
Department’s records and files, the following facts are true:

a. Respondent applied for a Utah resident producer individual insurance license on June

3, 2020.

b. Respondent answered “no” to the question that asked he had ever been convicted of a

misdemeanor, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or was currently charged with

committing a misdemeanor.

c. OnJuly 21, 1998, Respondent was convicted of Carrying Concealed Dangerous

Weapon, a Class A Misdemeanor. West Valley City v. Lawrence James Miller, Case

No. 981102768.
d. On January 19, 1999, Respondent was convicted of Theft, a Class B Misdemeanor,
and of Threat/Use of Dangerous Weapon in Fight, a Class A Misdemeanor. West Valley

City v. Lawrence James Miiler, Case No. 981104235,




e. On March 6, 2007, Respondent was convicted of Theft by Deception, a Class A

Misdemeanor, and Retail Theft, a Class A Misdemeanor. State of Utah v. Lawrence

James Miller, Case No. 041102728.
f. On July 13, 2012, a monetary judgment was entered against Respondent in the
amount of $6,188.48. Based upon court documents that I have reviewed, this judgment

remains outstanding. Mountain Loan Centers Inc vs. Lawrence Miller, Case No.

129401433.
g. On March 11, 2014, a monetary judgment was entered against Respondent in the
amount of $9,755.11. Based upon court documents that I have reviewed, this judgement

remains outstanding. Troy Butler et al. vs. Lawrence 1. Miller, Case No. 140400933.

h. On January 2, 2018, a monetary judgment was entered against Respondent in the
amount of $2,096.00. Based upon the court documents that | have reviewed, the

judgment remains outstanding. Workforce Services vs. Lawrence Miller, Case No.

186900259.

4, The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance laws were not
complied with:

a. Utah Code Ann. § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xiv)(B), convicted of a misdemeanor involving
fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty;

b. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(ix), by providing incorrect, misleading, or materially
untrue information in the license application by answering “no” to the question regarding having

ever been convicted of a misdemeanor;



c¢. Utah Code § 31A-23a-105(2)(b)(ii), by failing to report at the time of filing the license
application a criminal prosecution taken against Respondent;

d. Utah Code § 31A-23a-107(2)(a)(ii), by failing to meet the trustworthy character
requirement;

e. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)b)(iv), by failing to pay a final judgment rendered
against Respondent in this state within 60 days after the day on which the judgement became
final;

f. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(1), by being unqualified for a license under Utah Code
Ann. § 31A-23a-104, 105, or 107.

5. Based on the facts and law set forth above, Respondent’s application for a resident
producer individual license should be denied.

Signed on this 16" day of June, 2020, in Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, State of Utah.

/s/ Randy Overstreel

Randy Overstreet, Manager, Producer Licensing
Financial Regulation & Licensing Division
Utah Insurance Department




