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NOTICE OF INFORMAL ADJUDICATIVE PROCEEDING

The Utah Insurance Department (the “Department”) commences this informal
adjudicative proceeding against Respondent Jared Byron Davis (“Respondent”) pursuant to Utah
Code §§ 31A-2-201 and 63G-4-201 through -203 and Utah Admin. Code R590-160.

This informal adjudicative proceeding is based on the facts and law set forth in the
attached Declaration and is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah
Code § 63G-4-202(1) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-4 and -8.

ORDER
Based on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause

appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows:



1. Respondent’s application for a Utah resident producer individual insurance license is
denied.

2. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-8(1), this
informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become final and
take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Informal Adjudicative Proceeding and Order is
emailed to Respondent unless a written request for a hearing on this matter is received from
Respondent prior to that date.

3. A request for a hearing shall be sent by email to uidadmincases@utah.gov or by U.S.

mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah Insurance Department, 3110 State Office
Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114. The request for hearing shall be signed by the person
making the request and shall state the basis for the relief requested.

4. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a
hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude any further
administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter.

DATED this /2" %ay of AqucT , 2020.
74

TODD E. KISER
Utah Insurance Commissioner

3110 State Office Building
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
801-538-3860

Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov



NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER
Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include forfeitures of
up to $2,500 per violation, license suspension or revocation, and/or further enforcement action
before the Utah District Court where forfeitures of up to $10,000 may be imposed. If you are
licensed in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report this proceeding to those

jurisdictions.



DECLARATION

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Randy Overstreet, declare the following:

1. I'am currently employed as a manager in the Financial Regulation & Licensing
Division of the Utah Insurance Department where my responsibilities include investigating and
enforcing Utah insurance laws.

2. I submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Informal Adjudicative
Proceeding and Order against Jared Byron Davis (“Respondent”) to which this Declaration is
attached.

3. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the Utah
Insurance Department’s (the “Department”) records and files, the following facts are true:

a. On August 3, 2020, the Department received an online license application from

Respondent for a resident producer individual insurance license.

i. Respondent answered “No” to the criminal background question that
asked, “Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor, had a judgment
withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged with committing a
misdemeanor?”

ii. Respondent answered “Yes” to the question that asked “[h]ave you
been notified by any jurisdiction to which you are applying of any delinquent tax
obligation that is not the subject of a repayment agreement?”

b. On February 24, 2010, Respondent pleaded guilty to the following criminal

charges: Utah Code § 76-5-102, Assault, a Class B Misdemeanor; Utah Code § 76-5-

102, Assault, a Class B Misdemeanor; Utah Code § 76-5-109.1(2)(c), Domestic Violence

in the Presence of a Child, a Class B Misdemeanor; Utah Code § 76-6-106, Criminal



Mischief, a Class B Misdemeanor; Utah Code § 76-9-701(1), Intoxication, a Class C
Misdemeanor, in the Davis County Justice Court, Davis County, State of Utah.

¢c. On September 13, 2010, Respondent pleaded guilty to violating Utah Code §
76-5-108, Violation of Protective Order, a Class A Misdemeanor, in the Second District
Court, Farmington, Davis County, State of Utah.

d. On October 7, 2011, a monetary judgment in the amount of $2,465.92 was
entered against Respondent in the Fourth District Court, American Fork, Utah County,
State of Utah. Based upon the court documents that I have reviewed, this judgment
remains outstanding.

e. On November 9, 2011, a monetary judgment in the amount of $3,718.97 was
entered against Respondent in the Fourth District Court, American Fork, Utah County,
State of Utah. Based upon the court documents that I have reviewed, this judgment
remains outstanding.

f. On March 23, 2020, a monetary judgment/tax lien was entered in favor of the
Utah State Commission against Respondent in the amount of $9,694.01, in the Second
District Court, Farmington, Davis County, State of Utah. Based upon the court
documents that I have reviewed, this judgment/tax lien remains outstanding.

4. The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance laws were not
complied with:

a. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(ix), providing incorrect, misleading, or
materially untrue information in the license application by answering “No” to the

question regarding having ever been convicted of a misdemeanor.



b. Utah Code § 31A-23a-105(2)(b)(ii), -(c)(i)(A), failing to report at the time of
filing the license application a criminal prosecution taken against Respondent.

c. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(iv), failing to pay a final judgment rendered
against Respondent in this State within 60 days after the day on which the judgment
became final.

d. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xxii), failing to pay State income tax, or to
comply with an administrative or court order directing payment of State income tax.

e. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(i), being unqualified for a license under Utah
Code §§ 31A-23a-104, 105, or 107.

5. Based on the facts and law set forth above, Respondent’s application for a Utah
resident producer individual insurance license should be denied.

Signed on this 11th day of August, 2020, at Salt Lake City, Utah.

/s/ Randy Overstreet
Randy Overstreet
Manager, Producer Licensing Financial Regulation
& Licensing Division
Utah Insurance Department




