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BEFORE THE UTAH INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

UTAH INSURANCE DEPARTMENT, FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF
LAW AND ORDER

Complainant,
Vs.

GUARANTEE TRUST LIFE INSURANCE | Docket No. 2021-4294- 43/ { -aXp(',
COMPANY,

Donald H. Hansen
Respondent. Presiding Officer

Complainant, Utah Insurance Department ("Department"), and Respondent, Guarantee
Trust Life Insurance Company (“Respondent”), have stipulated to entry of the following
Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order. Based upon that stipulation, and good cause
appearing, the Presiding Officer makes and enters the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Respondent is an insurer domiciled in Illinois and authorized to offer accident and
health products in the state of Utah under license number 384.
2. Respondent’s mailing address is Guarantee Trust Life [nsurance Company, 1275

Milwaukee Ave., Glenview, IL 60025.



3. On August 9, 2019, Respondent submitted a form filing (SERFF tracking #
GRTT-132043464).

4, The Department issued an order to prohibit use of the filing on October 30, 2019.

5. On January 16, 2020, Respondent again submitted the same forms (SERFF
tracking # GRTT-132226027) (“the January 16 filing”).

6. The January 16 filing description stated that none of the provisions in the filing
had been previously objected to or prohibited.

7. The certification form for the January 16 filing indicated “n/a” in response to the

statement “This is a new filing in reference to a previously rejected or prohibited filing.”

8. Respondent failed to reference the previously prohibited filing in the January 16
filing.
9. The Department and Respondent have agreed to an administrative forfeiture of
$1,500.00.
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
1. The Utah Insurance Commissioner (“Commissioner”) has jurisdiction over the

parties and this adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code §§ 31A-1-105 and 31A-2-201.
2. The Commissioner has legal authority to impose penalties on the Department's
licensees who violate the Utah Insurance Code pursuant to Utah Code § 31A-2-308.
3. Utah Admin. Code R590-220-6(4)(a)(iii) requires a filer to outline in the Filing
Description whether any provision has been previously objected to or prohibited. The Filing
Description for the January 16 filing stated that none of the provisions in the filing had been

previously objected to or prohibited, which was inaccurate.



4. Utah Admin. Code R590-220-6(4)(b) requires the filer to certify that a filing has
been properly completed and complies with Utah laws and rules. Filings must include a properly
completed and signed certification form. The certification form for the January 16 filing
incorrectly indicated “n/a” in response to the statement “This is a new filing in reference to a
previously rejected or prohibited filing.”

5. Utah Admin. Code R590-220-17(2)(d) requires a new filing to reference a
previously prohibited filing. Respondent violated this rule by resubmitting a filing but did not
referencing the previously prohibited filing.

6. As penalties for the violations in this case, Respondent should be ordered to pay a
forfeiture of $1,500.00.

ORDER

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, it is hereby Ordered
that:

l. Respondent shall pay a forfeiture of $1,500.00 for the violations described in the

Conclusions of Law.



2. Respondent is ordered not to commit the violations described in the Conclusions
of Law in the future.

DATED this :{ day of ﬁc;bt‘\\ , 2021,

JONATHAN T. PIKE
Utah Insurance Commissioner

DONA - SEN
Presiding Officer

Utah Insurance Department
4315 S.2700 W., Suite 2300
Taylorsville, UT 84129
Telephone: (801) 957-9321
Email: uidadmincases(@utah.gov

NOTICE TO RESPONDENT
Failure to obey this Order may subject you to further penalties that include a forfeiture of
up to $2,500 per violation, with each day of the violation constituting a separate violation. Other
penalties for failing to obey this Order may include license suspension, probation, refusal to
renew, or revocation. Failure to obey this Order may also result in an action taken against you in
a court of competent jurisdiction where forfeitures of up to $10,000 for each day the failure to
comply continues until judgment is rendered. If you are licensed in other jurisdictions, you may

be required to report this proceeding in those jurisdictions.





