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Donald H. Hansen
Respondent. Administrative Law Judge/Presiding Officer

NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION

The Utah Insurance Department (“the Department”) commences this agency action as an
informal adjudicative proceeding against Respondent Christopher Hanks (“Respondent’)
pursuant to Utah Code 8§ 31A-2-201 and 63G-4-201 through -203 and to Utah Admin. Code
R590-160.

This agency action is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and
is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code 8 63G-4-202(1) and
Utah Admin Code R590-160-4 and -8.

ORDER
Based on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause

appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows:
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1. Respondent’s application for a Utah resident producer individual insurance license is
denied.

2. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-8(1), this
informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become final and
take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is emailed to Respondent
unless a request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent prior to that date.

3. A request for a hearing shall be in writing and sent by email to

uidadmincases@utah.gov or by U.S. mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah

Insurance Department, 4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300, Taylorsville, UT 84129. The request for
hearing shall be signed by the person making the request and shall state the basis for the relief
requested.

4. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a
hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude any further
administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter.

DATED this 23" day of November, 2021.

JONATHAN T. PIKE
Utah Insurance Commissioner

/s/ Donald H. Hansen

DONALD H. HANSEN

Administrative Law Judge/Presiding Officer
Utah Insurance Department

4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300

Taylorsville, UT 84129

Telephone: (801) 957-9321

Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov
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NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER
Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include forfeitures of
up to $2,500 per violation, license suspension or revocation, further enforcement action before
the Utah District Court where forfeitures of up to $10,000 may be imposed. If you are licensed

in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report this proceeding to those jurisdictions.



DECLARATION

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Randy Overstreet, declare the following:

1. I'am currently employed as Manager of Producer Licensing in the Financial
Regulation & Licensing Division with the Utah Insurance Department (“Department”) where my
responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah insurance laws.

2. | submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Agency Action and
Order against Christopher Hanks (“Respondent”) to which this Declaration is attached.

3. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the
Department’s records and files, the following facts are true:

a. Respondent applied for a Utah resident producer individual insurance license on
October 25, 2021.

b. Respondent answered “yes” to the questions that asked whether he had been
convicted of a felony, a misdemeanor, had a judgment withheld or deferred, and whether
he had a child support obligation in arrearage.

c. On November 7, 1994, Respondent was convicted of attempted theft, a 3™ degree

felony. See State of Utah vs. Christopher Lee Hanks, case no. 941901276, Salt Lake

County, State of Utah.
d. On December 4, 2015, a monetary judgment was entered against Respondent in the

amount of $2,550.34. See Checknet Inc. vs. Christopher L Hanks, case no. 159104958,

Utah County, State of Utah. Based upon the court documents that | reviewed, this
judgment remains outstanding.
e. On February 1, 2017, a paperless child support lien was filed and a monetary

judgment was entered against Respondent in the amount of $1,327.94. See State of Utah



ORS. vs. Christopher L Hanks, case no. 176400925, Utah County, State of Utah. Based

upon the court documents that I reviewed, this judgment remains outstanding with an
amount owing of $8,304.26.
f. On April 23, 2018, a paperless tax lien was filed and a monetary judgment entered

against Respondent for $2,929.81. See Utah State Tax Commission vs. Christopher L

Hanks, case no. 186403168, Utah County, State of Utah. Based upon the court
documents that | reviewed, this tax lien remains outstanding.
g. On April 23, 2018, a paperless tax lien was filed and a monetary judgment entered

against Respondent in the amount of $579.84. See Utah State Tax Commission vs.

Christopher L Hanks, case no. 186403015, Utah County, State of Utah. Based upon the

court documents that | reviewed, this tax lien remains outstanding.
4. The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance laws were
not complied with:

a. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b) authorizes the Commissioner to act in compliance
with the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, 18 U.S.C. §1033. Having
been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or breach of trust and having failed to obtain
from the Commissioner the required written consent to engage or participate in the business of
insurance, Respondent is prohibited from engaging in the business of insurance pursuant to Utah
Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xxv) and 18 U.S.C. 8 1033(e)(2);

b. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xiv)(A) by being convicted of a felony;

c. Utah Code § 31A-23a-107(2)(a)(ii), by failing to meet the trustworthy character

requirement;



d. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(i), by being ungualified for a license under Utah
Code § 31A-23a-104, 105, or 107,

e. Utah Code 8§ 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(iv) by failing to pay a final judgment rendered
against Respondent in this state within 60 days after the day on which the judgment became
final;

f. Utah Code 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xxi) by failing to comply with an administrative or
court order imposing a child support obligation;

g. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xxii) by failing to pay state income tax, or to comply
with an administrative or court order directing payment of state income tax; and

h. Utah Administrative Rule R590-281-4(3)(a) by applying for a license without first
obtaining written consent from the Commissioner to engage or participate in the business of
insurance.

5. Based on the facts and law set forth above, Respondent’s application for a resident
producer individual insurance license should be denied.

Signed on this 22" day of November, 2021, in Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, State of

Utah.

/s/ Randy Overstreet

Randy Overstreet, Manager, Producer Licensing
Financial Regulation & Licensing Division
Utah Insurance Department




ERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
The undersigned hereby certifies that on this date a true and correct copy of the foregoing

Notice of Agency Action and Order, with the Declaration attached to it, was emailed to:

Christopher Hanks

and

Randy Overstreet
Utah Insurance Department

DATED this 23" day of November, 2021.

/sl Jeanine Couser

Jeanine Couser

Utah Insurance Department
4315 S. 2700 W, Suite 2300
Taylorsville, UT 84129
(801) 957-9321






