HELEN A. FROHLICH #8814 Assistant Attorney General SEAN D. REYES #7969 Attorney General Attorneys for Utah Insurance Department 160 East 300 South, 5th Floor P.O. Box 140874 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-0874

Telephone: (801)366-0375 Email: hfrohlich@agutah.gov

BEFORE THE UTAH INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

UTAH INSURANCE DEPARTMENT, NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION AND ORDER

Complainant,

VS.

RTED INSURANCE COMPANY,

Respondent.

Docket No. 2021-4362

Donald H. Hansen

Administrative Law Judge/Presiding Officer

NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION

The Utah Insurance Department ("the Department") commences this agency action as an informal adjudicative proceeding against Respondent RTED Insurance Company ("Respondent") pursuant to Utah Code §§ 31A-2-201 and 63G-4-201 through -203, and to Utah Admin. Code R590-160.

This informal adjudicative proceeding is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-202(1) and Utah Admin Code R590-160-4 and -8.

ORDER

Based on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows:

- 1. Respondent's Certificate of Authority is revoked pursuant to Utah Code § 31A-37-505(1)(h).
- 2. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-8(1), this informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become final and take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is emailed to Respondent unless a request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent prior to that date.
- 3. A request for a hearing shall be in writing and sent by email to uidadmincases@utah.gov or by U.S. mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah Insurance Department, 3110 State Office Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114. The request for hearing shall be signed by the person making the request and shall state the basis for the relief requested.

4. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude any further

administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter.

DATED this 10th day of December, 2021.

JONATHAN T. PIKE

Utah Insurance Commissioner

/s/ Donald H. Hansen

DONALD H. HANSEN

Administrative Law Judge/Presiding Officer Utah Insurance Department 4315 South 2700 West, Suite 2300

Taylorsville, UT 84129

801-957-9321

Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov

NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER

Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include forfeitures of

up to \$2,500 per violation, license suspension or revocation, further enforcement action before

the Utah District Court where forfeitures of up to \$10,000 may be imposed. If you are licensed

in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report this proceeding to those jurisdictions.

3

DECLARATION

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Tracy Klausmeier, declare the following:

- 1. I am currently employed as the Director of the Property and Casualty Division of the Utah Insurance Department ("Department") where my responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah insurance laws.
- 2. I submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Agency Action and Order against RTED Insurance Company ("Respondent") to which this Declaration is attached.
- 3. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the Department's records and files, the following facts are true:
 - a. Respondent is a captive insurer domiciled in the State of Utah. Respondent's license number is 165295.
 - b. Respondent holds a dormancy certificate of authority in Utah.
 - c. Respondent is required by Utah Code § 31A-37-701(6) to pay an annual dormancy renewal fee no later than July 1 of each year.
 - d. Respondent failed to pay the dormancy renewal fee by July 1, 2021.
 - e. Respondent failed to respond to multiple reminder emails from the Department regarding the dormancy renewal fee.
- 4. The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance law(s) were not complied with:
 - a. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-37-701(6) by failing to pay its dormancy renewal fee by July 1, 2021.

5. Based on Utah Code § 31A-37-505 and other similar enforcement cases, the Respondent's Certificate of Authority should be revoked.

Signed on this 9th day of December, 2021, at Salt Lake City, Utah.

/s/ Tracy Klausmeier

Tracy Klausmeier Director, Property & Casualty Division Utah Insurance Department

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that on this date a true and correct copy of the foregoing

Notice of Agency Action and Order, with the Declaration attached to it, was emailed to:

RTED Insurance Company

and

Tracy Klausmeier Utah Insurance Department

DATED this 10th day of December, 2021.

/s/ Jeanine Couser

Jeanine Couser Utah Insurance Department 4315 South 2700 West, Suite 2300 Taylorsville, UT 84129 801-957-9200