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NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION 

 The Utah Insurance Department (“the Department”) commences this agency action as an 

informal adjudicative proceeding against Respondent Gregory BJ Ford (“Respondent”) pursuant 

to Utah Code §§ 31A-2-201 and 63G-4-201 through -203 and to Utah Admin. Code R590-160.   

 This agency action is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and 

is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-202(1) and 

Utah Admin Code R590-160-4 and -8. 

ORDER 

 Based on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause 

appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows:   
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 1.  Respondent’s application for a Utah resident producer individual insurance license is 

denied. 

 2.  Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-8(1), this 

informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become final and 

take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is emailed to Respondent 

unless a request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent prior to that date.   

 3.  A request for a hearing shall be in writing and sent by email to 

uidadmincases@utah.gov or by U.S. mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah 

Insurance Department, 4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300, Taylorsville, UT 84129.  The request for 

hearing shall be signed by the person making the request and shall state the basis for the relief 

requested. 

 4.  If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order.  Failure to request a 

hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude any further 

administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter. 

 DATED this 22nd day of April, 2022. 

     

    JONATHAN T. PIKE 

    Utah Insurance Commissioner 

 

 

    /s/ Donald H. Hansen   

    DONALD H. HANSEN 

    Administrative Law Judge/Presiding Officer 

    Utah Insurance Department 

    4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300 

    Taylorsville, UT 84129 

    Telephone: (801) 957-9321 

    Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov 
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NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER 

 

 Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include a forfeiture of 

up to $2,500 per violation, with each day of the violation constituting a separate violation.  Other 

penalties for failing to obey this Order include license suspension, probation, refusal to renew, or 

revocation.  Failure to obey this Order may also result in an action taken against you in a court of 

competent where forfeitures of up $10,000 for each day the failure to comply continues until 

judgement is rendered.  If you are licensed in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report 

this proceeding to those jurisdictions.    
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DECLARATION 
 

 Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Randy Overstreet, declare the following: 

 1.  I am currently employed as Manager of Producer Licensing in the Financial 

Regulation & Licensing Division with the Utah Insurance Department (“Department”) where my 

responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah insurance laws. 

 2.  I submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Agency Action and 

Order against Gregory BJ Ford (“Respondent”) to which this Declaration is attached. 

 3.  Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the 

Department’s records and files, the following facts are true: 

a.  Respondent applied for a Utah resident producer individual insurance license on 

December 1, 2021. 

b.  Respondent answered “yes” to the question that asked whether he had been convicted 

of a misdemeanor, and “no” to the question that asked whether he had been convicted of 

a felony. 

c. On March 3, 2014, Respondent was convicted of Attempted Theft by Receiving 

Stolen Property, a Class A Misdemeanor.  Respondent was sentenced to 30 days jail and 

placed on supervised probation for a period of 24 months.  On April 27, 2016, the 

Respondent received a 402 reduction, and the conviction was reduced to a Class B 

Misdemeanor. (See State of Utah vs. Gregory BJ Ford, case # 131912068, Salt Lake 

County, State of Utah.) 

d. On August 19, 2013, Respondent was convicted of Retail Theft, a Class B 

Misdemeanor. Respondent was placed on court probation for a period of 9 months. The 
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case was closed on May 6, 2014. (See West Jordan City vs. Gregory BJ Ford, case # 

131300056, Salt Lake County, State of Utah.) 

e. On June 10, 2013, Respondent was convicted of one count of Attempted Forgery and 

one count of Theft by Deception, both Class A Misdemeanors. Respondent was 

sentenced to 12 days jail and placed on supervised probation for a period of 12 months. 

On April 28, 2016, the Respondent received a 402 reduction, and the convictions were 

reduced to Class B Misdemeanors. (See State of Utah vs. Gregory BJ Ford, case # 

131901991, Salt Lake County, State of Utah.) 

f. On October 16, 2013, Respondent was convicted of Wrongful Appropriation, a Class 

C Misdemeanor.  The Respondent was sentenced to community service hours and the 

case was closed on January 14, 2015. (See Taylorsville City vs. Gregory BJ Ford, case # 

131100159, Salt Lake County, State of Utah.) 

g. On March 19, 2015, Respondent was convicted of four counts of Unlawful 

Acquisition, Possession, or Transfer of Financial Transaction Card, all Third-Degree 

Felonies. Respondent was sentenced to 1 day in jail, ordered to pay restitution and a fine.  

On March 1, 2018, the Respondent received a 402 reduction, and the convictions were 

reduced to Class A Misdemeanors. The case was closed on February 7, 2018. (See State 

of Utah vs. Gregory BJ Ford, case # 141701354, Davis County, State of Utah.) 

h. On April 7, 2015, Respondent plead guilty to one count of Burglary, a Second-Degree 

Felony.  The plea was held in abeyance and Respondent was placed on probation for a 

period of 36 months.  On April 27, 2016, the plea in abeyance was dismissed and the 

case was closed. (See State of Utah vs. Gregory BJ Ford, case # 151902454, Salt Lake 

County, State of Utah.) 
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4.  The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance laws were 

not complied with: 

 a.  Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b) authorizes the Commissioner to act in compliance 

with the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, 18 U.S.C. §1033.  Having 

been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or breach of trust and having failed to obtain 

from the Commissioner the required written consent to engage or participate in the business of 

insurance, Respondent is prohibited from engaging in the business of insurance pursuant to Utah 

Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xxv) and 18 U.S.C. § 1033(e)(2); 

 b.  Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xiv)(B) by being convicted of a misdemeanor 

involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty; 

 c. Utah Code § 31A-23a-107(2)(a)(ii) by failing to meet the trustworthy character 

requirement; 

e.  Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(i) by being unqualified for a license under Utah Code 

§ 31A-23a-104, 105, or 107;  

 f. Utah Administrative Rule R590-281-4(1)(e) by applying for a license prior to the end 

of the required time period resulting from Respondent’s misdemeanor conviction involving 

fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty; and 

g. Utah Administrative Rule R590-281-4(4)(a)(i), by applying for a license without first 

obtaining written consent from the Commissioner to engage or participate in the business of 

insurance.  Pursuant to R590-281-4(4)(c)(i), an application for written consent is required even if 

a felony charge involving dishonesty or breach of trust has been dismissed under a plea in 

abeyance agreement or a felony conviction has been reduced to a lower degree of offense 

pursuant to UCA § 76-3-402.  
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5.  Based on the facts and law set forth above, Respondent’s application for a resident 

producer individual insurance license should be denied. 

 

Signed on this 19th day of April, 2022, in Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, State of 

Utah. 

 

 

/s/ Randy Overstreet     

Randy Overstreet, Manager, Producer Licensing 

Financial Regulation & Licensing Division 

Utah Insurance Department 



 8 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

 

 The undersigned hereby certifies that on this date a true and correct copy of the foregoing 

Notice of Agency Action and Order, with the Declaration attached to it, was emailed to: 

Gregory BJ Ford 

 

 

and 

 

Randy Overstreet 

Utah Insurance Department 

 

  

 

DATED this 22nd day of April, 2022. 

 

 

     /s/ Jeanine Couser   

     Jeanine Couser 

     Utah Insurance Department 

     4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300 

     Taylorsville, UT 84129 

     (801) 957-9321 

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




