SHELLEY A. COUDREAUT (9663)

Assistant Attorney General

SEAN D. REYES (7969)

Attorney General

Attorneys for Utah Insurance Department

160 East 300 South, 5th Floor

P.O. Box 140874

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-0874

Telephone: (801) 366-0375

Email: sacoudreaut@agutah.gov

BEFORE THE UTAH INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

UTAH INSURANCE DEPARTMENT,

Complainant,

VS.

OPTICARE OF UTAH, INC.,

Respondent.

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW AND ORDER

Docket No. 2022-4430

Donald H. Hansen

Administrative Law Judge/Presiding Officer

Complainant, Utah Insurance Department ("Department") and Respondent, Opticare of Utah, Inc., have stipulated to entry of the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order.

Based upon that stipulation, and good cause appearing, the Presiding Officer makes and enters the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

- 1. Respondent is an insurer holding a certificate of authority, Utah number 1667.
- 2. Respondent's mailing address is
- 3. Pursuant to Utah Code §31A-4-113(1) an insurer is required to file annually with the commissioner, before March 1st, a true statement of the authorized insurer's financial condition,

 $\label{thm:continuous} \textbf{Utah Insurance Department v. Opticare of Utah, Inc.}$

transactions, and affairs as of December 31st of the preceding year.

4. On July 12, 2021, Respondent failed to meet its filing extension deadline by filing its

March 1, 2021, quarterly statement twelve days late. This violated Utah Code §§ 31A-4-113(1)

and 31A-4-113.5(1). The Department chose not to seek a forfeiture for this violation because it

was a first-time occurrence, and the delay was not substantial.

5. However, Respondent again failed to meet its filing extension deadline when it failed

to file its March 1, 2022, quarterly statement by the filing extension date of May 31, 2022. This

violated Utah Code §§ 31A-4-113(1) and 31A-4-113.5(1).

6. Pursuant to Utah Admin. Code R590-254-4, an insurer shall have an annual audit by

an independent certified public accountant and shall file an audited financial report with the

commissioner on or before June 1st for the preceding year ending December 31st.

7. Respondent failed to file its June 1, 2022, audited financial statement for the preceding

year ending December 31, 2021, by the filing extension date of June 30, 2022. This violated

Utah Admin. Code R590-254-4.

8. The Department and Respondent have agreed to an administrative forfeiture of

\$2,500.00.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Utah Insurance Commissioner ("Commissioner") has jurisdiction over the parties

and this adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code §§ 31A-1-105 and 31A-2-201.

2. The Commissioner has legal authority to impose penalties on the Department's

licensees who violate the Utah Insurance Code. Utah Code § 31A-2-308.

3. Respondent violated Utah Code §§ 31A-4-113(1) and 31A-4-113.5(1) when it failed

Utah Insurance Department v. Opticare of Utah, Inc.

to file its March 1, 2022, quarterly statement by the filing extension date of May 31, 2022.

4. Respondent violated Utah Admin Rule R590-254-4 when it failed to file its June 1,

2022, audited financial statement for the preceding year ending December 31, 2021, by the filing

extension date of June 30, 2022.

5. As a penalty for the violations in this case, Respondent should be ordered to pay a

forfeiture of \$2,500.00.

ORDER

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, it is hereby Ordered

that:

1. Respondent shall pay a forfeiture of \$2,500.00 for the violations described in the

Conclusions of Law. Payment in full is due within thirty days of this order.

2. Respondent is ordered not to commit the violations described in the Conclusions of

Law in the future.

DATED this 12th day of October, 2022.

JONATHAN T. PIKE

Utah Insurance Commissioner

/s/ Donald H. Hansen

Donald H. Hansen

Administrative Law Judge/Presiding Officer

Utah Insurance Department

4315 South 2700 West, Suite 2300

Taylorsville, UT 84129

801-957-9321

Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov

NOTICE TO RESPONDENT

Failure to obey this Order may subject you to further penalties that include a forfeiture of up to \$2,500 per violation, with each day of the violation constituting a separate violation. Other penalties for failing to obey this Order may include license suspension, probation, refusal to renew, or revocation. Failure to obey this Order may also result in an action taken against you in a court of competent jurisdiction where forfeitures of up to \$10,000 for each day the failure to comply continues until judgment is rendered. If you are licensed in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report this proceeding in those jurisdictions

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned certifies that on this date a true and correct copy of the foregoing

Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order was emailed to:

Opticare of Utah, Inc. Attention Aaron Schubach, CEO

Opticare of Utah, Inc. Attention: Som Chivukula, CFO

Shelley A. Coudreaut Assistant Attorney General sacoudreaut@agutah.gov

DATED this 12th day of October, 2022.

/s/ Jeanine Couser

Jeanine Couser Utah Insurance Department 4315 South 2700 West, Suite 2300 Taylorsville, UT 84129 801-957-9321