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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 

 This matter was commenced on October 13, 2022, when Complainant Utah Insurance 

Department (“the Department”) filed a Notice of Agency Action seeking denial of Jacob Rowley 

Giles' (“Respondent”) application for a resident individual insurance producer license.   

The Notice of Agency Action and Order denying Respondent's license application 

provided for a right to request a hearing regarding the proposed action, and Respondent timely 

filed a request for hearing. 

In accordance with Utah Admin. Code R590-160, the Presiding Officer duly noticed and 

conducted an evidentiary hearing on December 7, 2022. The hearing was conducted by 

electronic video teleconference. The Department appeared at the hearing, represented by Helen 

Frohlich, Assistant Attorney General, Utah Attorney General’s Office. The Department called 

one witness, viz., Randy Overstreet, manager of producer licensing for the Department. The 

Respondent appeared and was not represented by counsel. The Presiding Officer received live 

testimony and documentary evidence at the hearing.  
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Based on the foregoing provisions of law and the evidence received at the evidentiary 

hearing, by a preponderance of the evidence, the Presiding Officer makes the following: 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. On October 6, 2022, Respondent applied for licensure by the Department as a 

resident individual insurance producer.  

2. The Department's application form contains, among other questions, a question 

asking whether the applicant had ever been named or involved in an administrative proceeding 

regarding a professional or occupational license or registration. 

3. Respondent answered "no" to the above question in the license application. 

 4. Respondent held a Utah resident individual insurance producer license, number 

696957, from November 1, 2018, until April 30, 2020. 

 5. The Department revoked Respondent's prior license, on April 30, 2020. See, Utah 

Insurance Department v. Jacob Giles, Docket No. 2020-4214. At the evidentiary hearing in this 

matter, Respondent did not recall why his previous license had been revoked. 

 6. As of the date of the evidentiary hearing in this matter, the Respondent had two 

unsatisfied civil monetary judgments against him pending. In the case of Legends at River Oaks 

Apartments v. Jacob Rowley Giles, et. al, Utah Third District Court, Salt Lake County, Case No. 

199907682, judgment in the sum of $4,052.84 was entered against Respondent on June 27, 2019, 

and remains unsatisfied. In the case of Utah State Tax Commission v. Jacob Giles, Utah Second 

District Court, Davis County, Case No. 206700232, judgment in the sum of $693.21 was entered 

against Respondent on January 20, 2020, and remains unsatisfied. 
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 7. Respondent acknowledges the pending judgments identified above and intends to 

address them with the judgment creditors.  

 8. An insurance license applicant's failure to pay lawful court judgments and other 

valid debts is of substantial concern to the Department under the Utah Insurance Code, Utah 

Code Sec. 31A-1-102, et. seq., because the insurance industry requires financial trustworthiness 

on the part of insurance licensees, as they are responsible for safekeeping and proper handling of 

client funds. In addition, experience shows that insurance licensees with unpaid judgments may 

mishandle or steal client funds.  

 9. Respondent applied for a new license prior to five (5) years from the day the order 

revoking Respondent's license was made. Respondent did not seek or obtain the approval of the 

Insurance Commissioner before filing his application for a new insurance licensee,  

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 1. Respondent's application for licensure by the Department violates the following 

provisions of the Utah Insurance Code: 

  a. Utah Code, Section 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xvii), having had a previous Utah 

insurance license revoked; 

  b. Utah Code, Section 31A-23a-111(8)(b), applying for a new license before 

five (5) years from the day on which the order revoking Respondent's license was made, without 

the express prior approval of the insurance commissioner; 

  c. Utah Code, Section 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(ix), by providing incorrect, 

misleading or materially untrue information in the license application by answering "no" when 
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asked if he had been named or involved in a previous administrative proceeding regarding a 

professional or occupational license or registration; 

  d. Utah Code, Section 31A-23a-105(a)(ii), by committing an act that is 

grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation as set forth in Section 31A-23a-111; 

  e. Utah Code, Section 31A-23a-104(2)(b)(v), by failing to provide 

information in his license application regarding whether Respondent has committed an act that is 

ground for denial as set forth in Section 31A-23a-105 or 31A-23a-111; 

  f. Utah Code, Section 31A-23a-107(2)(a)(ii), by failing to meet the 

trustworthy character requirement; 

  g. Utah Code, Section 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(i), being unqualified for a license 

under Utah Code Section 31A-23a-104, 105 or 107; 

  h. Utah Code, Section 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(iv), by failing to pay a final 

judgment rendered against Respondent within sixty (60) days after the date on which the 

judgment became final; 

  i. Utah Code, Section 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xxii), failing to pay state income 

tax, or to comply with an administrative or court order directing payment of state income tax; 

and  

  j. Utah Code, Section 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(ii), by violating and insurance 

statute. 

 Accordingly, the Presiding Officer finds substantial evidence and good cause to enter the 

following: 
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ORDER 

1. The Notice of Agency Action and accompanying Order dated October 13, 2022, 

is hereby AFFIRMED. Respondent 's application for licensure as described above is DENIED. 

 

 DATED this 20th day of December 2022. 

 

 

     JONATHAN T. PIKE 

     Utah Insurance Commissioner 

 

 

/s/ Donald H. Hansen   

 Donald H. Hansen 

 Administrative Law Judge/Presiding Officer 

 Utah Insurance Department 

 4315 South 2700 West, Suite 2300 

 Taylorsville, UT 84129 

 801-957-9321 

 Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov  

 

 

See appeals rights information in the attached sheet. 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

I hereby certify that on the 19th day of December, 2022, a copy of the foregoing Findings 

of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order was sent via electronic mail to the following: 

Jacob Rowley Giles 

 
 
Helen A. Frohlich 

Assistant Attorney General 

hfrohlich@agutah.gov 

  

 

DATED this 20th day of December 2022. 

 

 

     /s/ Jeanine Couser    

      Jeanine Couser 

      Utah Insurance Department     

      4315 South 2700 West, Suite 2300 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

801-957-9321 
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Right to Request Reconsideration 

Pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 63G-4-302, any party may file a written request for reconsideration 

with the agency within 20 days after the date of this order. The request should be sent to 

uidadmincases@utah.gov. 

 

Right to Judicial Review 

Pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 63G-4-401, a party may obtain judicial review of final agency action 

by filing a petition for judicial review within 30 days after the date the order constituting final 

agency action is issued. See also, Utah Code Sec. 63G-4-403. 

  

Right to Agency Review 

Any party may request agency review of an order in an adjudicative proceeding within 30 days 

of the date of the order to be reviewed. The request should be sent to uidadmincases@utah.gov. 

Utah Insurance Department Rule R590-160-8 provides as follows: 

  

(1) 
   (a) Agency review of an adjudicative proceeding, except an informal adjudicative proceeding 

that becomes final without a request for a hearing pursuant to Subsection R590-160-7(1), shall 

be available to a party to a proceeding by filing a request for agency review with the 

commissioner within 30 days of the date of the order. 

   (b) Failure to seek agency review shall be considered a failure to exhaust administrative 

remedies. 

(2) Agency review shall comply with Sections 63G-4-301 and 63G-4-302. 

(3) 
   (a) The commissioner or the commissioner's designee shall conduct the review.  

   (b) A designee shall not be the presiding officer who issued the decision under review.  

   (c) If a designee conducts a review, the designee shall recommend a disposition to the 

commissioner who shall make the final decision and shall sign the order. 

(4) Content of a Request for Agency Review. 

   (a) A request for agency review shall comply with Subsection 63G-4-301(1)(b), and shall 

include the following:      

   (i) a copy of the order that is the subject of the request; 

   (ii) the factual basis for the request, including: 

   (A) citation to the record of the formal adjudicative proceeding; and 

   (B) clear reference to evidence or a proffer of evidence in an informal adjudicative proceeding; 

   (iii) the legal basis for the request, including citation to supporting authority;  

   (iv) for a challenge to a finding of fact in a formal adjudicative proceeding, the reason that the 

finding is not supported by substantial evidence based on the entire record; and 

   (v) for a challenge to a finding of fact in an informal adjudicative proceeding, the reason that 

the finding is not supported by substantial evidence based on the evidence received or proffered. 

   (b) A party challenging a finding of fact in a formal adjudicative proceeding shall: 

   (i) order a transcript of the recording relevant to the finding; 

   (ii) certify that a transcript has been ordered; 

   (iii) file the transcript with the commissioner or the commissioner's designee and serve a copy 

on each party; and 

   (iv) bear the cost of preparing the transcript. 



   (c) The commissioner or commissioner's designee may waive the transcript requirement on 

motion for good cause shown. 

(5) Memoranda. 

   (a)(i) A party requesting agency review shall submit a supporting memorandum with the 

request. 

   (ii) If a transcript is necessary to conduct the agency review, the supporting memorandum shall 

be filed no later than 15 days after the service of the transcript on the opposing party. 

   (b) An opposing memorandum shall be filed no later than 15 days after the filing of the 

supporting memorandum. 

   (c) A reply memorandum shall be filed no later than five days after the filing of the opposing 

memorandum. 

   (d) The commissioner or the commissioner's designee may order a party to submit additional 

memoranda to assist in conducting agency review. 

(6) Request for a Stay. 

   (a) On motion by any party and for good cause, the commissioner or commissioner's designee 

may stay the presiding officer's order during the pendency of agency review. 

   (b) A motion for a stay shall be made in writing and may be made at any time during the 

pendency of agency review. 

   (c) An opposition to a motion for a stay shall be made in writing within 10 days from the date 

the stay is requested. 

(7) The commissioner or the commissioner's designee may grant oral argument if requested in a 

party's initial pleading. 

(8) Failure to comply with Section R590-160-9 may result in dismissal of the request for agency 

review. 

  

 




