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NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION 
 

The Utah Insurance Department (“the Department”) commences this agency action as an 

informal adjudicative proceeding against Respondent Cierra Jean Sutton (“Respondent”) 

pursuant to Utah Code §§ 31A-2-201 and 63G-4-201 through -203 and to Utah Admin. Code 

R590-160. 

This agency action is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and 

is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-202(1) and 

Utah Admin Code R590-160-4 and -7. 

ORDER 
 

Based on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause 

appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows: 
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1. Respondent’s application for reinstatement of her Utah resident producer individual 

insurance license number 726830 is denied. 

2. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-8(1), this 

informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become final and 

take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is emailed to Respondent 

unless a request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent prior to that date. 

3. A request for a hearing shall be in writing and sent by email to 

uidadmincases@utah.gov or by U.S. mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah 

Insurance Department, 4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300, Taylorsville, UT 84129. The request for 

hearing shall be signed by the person making the request and shall state the basis for the relief 

requested. 

4. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a 

hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude any further 

administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter. 

 
 

DATED this 31st day of October 2022. 

 
 

JONATHAN T. PIKE 

Utah Insurance Commissioner 
 

 

 

/s/ Donald H. Hansen  

DONALD H. HANSEN 

Administrative Law Judge/Presiding Officer 

Utah Insurance Department 

4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Telephone: (801) 957-9321 

Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov 
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NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER 
 

Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include a forfeiture of 

up to $2,500 per violation, with each day of the violation constituting a separate violation. Other 

penalties for failing to obey this Order include license suspension, probation, refusal to renew, or 

revocation. Failure to obey this Order may also result in an action taken against you in a court of 

competent where forfeitures of up $10,000 for each day the failure to comply continues until 

judgement is rendered. If you are licensed in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report 

this proceeding to those jurisdictions. 
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DECLARATION 
 

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Randy Overstreet, declare the following: 

 

1. I am currently employed as Manager of Producer Licensing in the Financial 

Regulation & Licensing Division with the Utah Insurance Department (“Department”) where my 

responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah insurance laws. 

2. I submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Agency Action and 

Order against Cierra Jean Sutton (“Respondent”) to which this Declaration is attached. 

3. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the 

Department’s records and files, the following facts are true: 

a. On October 17, 2022, Respondent applied for reinstatement of her inactive Utah 

resident producer individual insurance license, license number 726830, which had lapsed 

on February 28, 2022, for failure to submit the license renewal fee. 

b. On her application, Respondent answered “yes” to the question that asked whether 

she had been convicted of a misdemeanor, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or was 

she currently charged with committing a misdemeanor. As required by the application 

process, Respondent submitted a written statement and court documents regarding the 

retail theft misdemeanor charge filed against the Respondent. 

c. On January 11, 2022, Respondent was charged with one count Retail Theft, a Class A 

Misdemeanor related to a retail theft at a Walmart store in Cache County on December 

3, 2021. 

d. On March 14, 2022, Respondent pled guilty to one count Retail Theft, amended to a 

Class B Misdemeanor, and entered into a plea in abeyance agreement. Respondent was 

ordered to pay a fee, ordered to successfully complete a moral recognition training class, 
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and placed on probation for a period of twelve months. On June 21, 2022, the plea in 

abeyance agreement was satisfied, probation was terminated, and the case was ordered 

closed (See State of Utah v. Cierra Jean Sutton, case # 221100055, Cache County, State 

of Utah). 

e. Based on information contained in Department licensing and Utah Court documents, 

Respondent’s surname is also known as Weaver. As part of the application process, the 

Department conducted a background check and identified an outstanding monetary 

judgment entered against the Respondent which disqualifies her from obtaining an 

insurance license in Utah. 

f. On May 17, 2022, a monetary judgment was entered against Respondent in the amount 

of $1,869.20. Based upon court documents that I have reviewed, this judgement remains 

outstanding. (See Forsythe Finance LLC vs. Cierra Waver, case # 229100484, Cache 

County, State of Utah). 

4. The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance laws were 

not complied with: 

a. Utah Code § 31A-23a-105(5)(a)(ii) by committing an act that is grounds for denial, 

suspension, or revocation as set forth in Section 31A-23a-111; 

b. Utah Code § 31A-23a-107(2)(a)(ii) by failing to meet the trustworthy character 

requirement; 

c. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(i) by being unqualified for a license under Utah 

Code § 31A-23a-104, 105, or 107; and 

d. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(iv) by failing to pay a final judgment rendered 

against Respondent within 60 days after the day on which the judgment became final. 
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5. Based on the facts and law set forth above, Respondent’s application for a resident 

producer individual insurance license should be denied. 

 
 

Signed on this 28th day of October, 2022, in Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, State of 
 

Utah. 
 

 

 

/s/ Randy Overstreet  

Randy Overstreet, Manager, Producer Licensing 

Financial Regulation & Licensing Division 

Utah Insurance Department 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 

The undersigned hereby certifies that on this date a true and correct copy of the foregoing 

Notice of Agency Action and Order, with the Declaration attached to it, was emailed to: 

Cierra Jean Sutton 

 
 

and 

 

Randy Overstreet 

Utah Insurance Department 

 
 

 

DATED this 31st day of October, 2022. 
 

 

 

/s/ Jeanine Couser   

Jeanine Couser 

Utah Insurance Department 

4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

(801) 957-9321 




