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NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION

The Utah Insurance Department (“the Department”) commences this agency action as an
informal adjudicative proceeding against Respondent Gissel Maria Solorzano (“Respondent”)
pursuant to Utah Code 8§ 31A-2-201 and 63G-4-201 through -203 and to Utah Admin. Code
R590-160.

This agency action is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and
is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code 8 63G-4-202(1) and
Utah Admin. Code R590-160-4 and -7.

ORDER
Based on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause

appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows:



1. Respondent’s application for a Utah resident producer individual insurance license is
denied.

2. Pursuant to Utah Code 8§ 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-7(1), this
informal adjudicative proceeding shall be closed, and this Order shall become final and take full
effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is emailed to Respondent unless a
request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent prior to that date.

3. Arrequest for a hearing shall be in writing and sent by email to

uidadmincases@utah.gov or by U.S. mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah

Insurance Department, 4315 S. 2700 W., Taylorsville, UT 84129. The request for hearing shall
state the basis for the relief requested.

4. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a
hearing is a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and precludes any further administrative
or judicial review or appeal of this matter.

DATED this 29" day of December, 2022.

JONATHAN T. PIKE
Utah Insurance Commissioner

/s/ Donald H. Hansen

DONALD H. HANSEN

Administrative Law Judge/Presiding Officer
Utah Insurance Department

4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300

Taylorsville, UT 84129

Telephone: (801) 957-9321

Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov




NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER

Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include a forfeiture of
up to $2,500 per violation, with each day of the violation constituting a separate violation. Other
penalties for failing to obey this Order include license suspension, probation, refusal to renew, or
revocation. Failure to obey this Order may also result in an action taken against you in a court of
competent jurisdiction where forfeitures of up $10,000 for each day the failure to comply
continues until judgement is rendered. If you are licensed in other jurisdictions, you may be

required to report this proceeding to those jurisdictions.



DECLARATION

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Randy Overstreet, declare the following:

1. I am currently employed as Manager of Producer Licensing in the Financial
Regulation & Licensing Division with the Utah Insurance Department (“Department’) where my
responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah insurance laws.

2. | submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Agency Action and
Order against Gissel Maria Solorzano (“Respondent”) to which this Declaration is attached.

3. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the
Department’s records and files, the following facts are true:

a. Respondent applied for a Utah resident producer individual insurance license on
December 1, 2022.

b. On or about January 16, 2020, a monetary judgment was entered against Respondent
in the amount of $946.47. Based upon the court documents that | reviewed, this

judgment remains outstanding. See Knight Adjustment Bureau vs. Gissel M. Solorzano,

case no. 199918192, Third District Court — Salt Lake, Salt Lake County, State of Utah.
c. On or about January 23, 2020, Respondent was convicted of retail theft, a class B
misdemeanor, placed on probation for 12 months, and ordered to pay a $500.00 fine.
Respondent is no longer on probation but continues to make payments on the fine. See

West Valley City vs. Gissel Maria Solorzano, case no. 181700419, West Valley City

Justice Court, Salt Lake County, State of Utah.
d. On or about February 19, 2020, Respondent was convicted of theft by deception, a

class B misdemeanor. She was ordered to pay a $750.00 fine. A satisfaction of



judgment was filed on October 11, 2022. See Taylorsville City vs. Solorzano, Gissel
Maria, case no. 191100923, Taylorsville Justice Court, Salt Lake County, State of Utah.
e. On or about May 17, 2022, Respondent was convicted of retail theft, a class A
misdemeanor, and placed on probation for 24 months. Respondent is currently on

probation for this conviction. See West Valley vs. Solorzano, Gissel Maria, case no.

201900809, Third District Court — Salt Lake, Salt Lake County, State of Utah.
f. On or about October 4, 2022, a monetary judgment was entered against Respondent in
the amount of $494.51. Based upon the court documents that | reviewed, this judgment

remains outstanding. See Dollar Loan Center vs. Gissel Solorzano, case no. 228700500,

West Valley City Justice Court, Salt Lake County, State of Utah.
4. The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance laws were
not complied with:

a. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(iv), failing to pay a final judgment rendered against
Respondent within 60 days after the day on which the judgment became final;

b. Utah Code 8 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xiv)(B), convicted of a misdemeanor involving
fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty;

c. Utah Code § 31A-23a-105(5)(a)(ii), committing an act that is grounds for denial,
suspension, or revocation as set forth in Section 31A-23a-111;

d. Utah Code § 31A-23a-107(2)(a)(ii), failing to meet the trustworthy character
requirement;

e. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(i), unqualified for a license under Utah Code § 31A-

23a-104, -105, or -107; and



f. Utah Admin. Code R590-281-4(1)(e), applying for a license prior to the end of the
required period resulting from Respondent’s misdemeanor conviction involving
fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty.

5. Based on the facts and law set forth above, Respondent’s application for a resident

producer individual insurance license should be denied.

Signed on this 21% day of December 2022, in Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, State of

Utah.

/s/ Randy Overstreet

Randy Overstreet, Manager, Producer Licensing
Financial Regulation & Licensing Division
Utah Insurance Department




CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that on this date a true and correct copy of the foregoing

Notice of Agency Action and Order, with the Declaration attached to it, was emailed to:

Gissel Maria Solorzano

Randy Overstreet

Utah Insurance Department
4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300
Taylorsville, UT 84129

and

Helen Frohlich
hfrohlich@agutah.gov

160 E. 300 S., 5th Floor

P.O. Box 140874

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-0874

DATED this 29" day of December, 2022.

/s/ Jeanine Couser

Jeanine Couser

Utah Insurance Department
4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300
Taylorsville, UT 84129
(801) 957-9321









