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NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION 
 

The Utah Insurance Department (“the Department”) commences this agency action as an 

informal adjudicative proceeding against Respondent Johnathan M. Duncan (“Respondent”) 

pursuant to Utah Code §§ 31A-2-201 and 63G-4-201 through -203 and to Utah Admin. Code 

R590-160. 

This agency action is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and 

is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-202(1) and 

Utah Admin Code R590-160-4 and -7. 

ORDER 
 

Based on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause 



2  

appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows: 

 

1. Respondent’s application for a Utah resident producer individual insurance license is 

 

denied. 

 

2. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-7(1), this 

informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become final and 

take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is emailed to Respondent 

unless a request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent prior to that date. 

3. A request for a hearing shall be in writing and sent by email to 

uidadmincases@utah.gov or by U.S. mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah 

Insurance Department, 4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300, Taylorsville, UT 84129. The request for 

hearing shall be signed by the person making the request and shall state the basis for the relief 

requested. 

4. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a 

hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude any further 

administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter. 

DATED this 4th day of January, 2023. 

 
 

JONATHAN T. PIKE 

Utah Insurance Commissioner 
 

 

/s/ Donald H. Hansen  

DONALD H. HANSEN 

Administrative Law Judge/Presiding Officer 

Utah Insurance Department 

4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Telephone: (801) 957-9321 

Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov 
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NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER 
 

Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include a forfeiture of 

up to $2,500 per violation, with each day of the violation constituting a separate violation. Other 

penalties for failing to obey this Order include license suspension, probation, refusal to renew, or 

revocation. Failure to obey this Order may also result in an action taken against you in a court of 

competent where forfeitures of up $10,000 for each day the failure to comply continues until 

judgement is rendered. If you are licensed in other jurisdictions, you may be required to report 

this proceeding to those jurisdictions. 
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DECLARATION 
 

 

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Randy Overstreet, declare the following: 

 

1. I am currently employed as Manager of Producer Licensing in the Financial 

Regulation & Licensing Division with the Utah Insurance Department (“Department”) where my 

responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah insurance laws. 

2. I submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Agency Action and 

Order against Johnathan M. Duncan (“Respondent”) to which this Declaration is attached. 

3. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the 

Department’s records and files, the following facts are true: 

a. On December 14, 2022, Respondent applied for a Utah resident producer individual 

insurance license. 

b. On his application, Respondent answered “yes” to the question that asked, “Have you 

been notified by any jurisdiction to which you are applying of any delinquent tax 

obligation that is not the subject of a repayment agreement?”. 

c. Documents I have reviewed show Respondent has a delinquent federal tax obligation 

for the year 2020 in the amount of $1,102.67 and a delinquent federal tax obligation for 

the year 2021 in the amount of $1,834.10 for a total delinquent tax obligation of 

$2,936.77. 

 

d. On his application, Respondent also answered “yes” to the question that asked, “Do 

you have a child support obligation in arrearage?”. In his response, Respondent stated he 

was 31 months in arrearage. However, court records indicate Respondent has been in 
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arrears for eleven (11) years. 

 

e. On March 14, 2012, a child support lien was filed, and a monetary judgment was 

entered against the Respondent in the amount of $24,312.58. Based upon court 

documents I have reviewed, this judgment remains outstanding with a modified 

judgment amount owing increased to $38,375.92 as of November 30, 2022. (See Child 

Supp Services Office of Recovery Services vs. Johnathan M. Duncan, case #126901646, 

Second District Court-Ogden Department, Weber County, State of Utah.) 

f. On September 26, 2012, a child support lien was filed, and a monetary judgment was 

entered against the Respondent in the amount of $27,244.46. Based upon court 

documents I have reviewed, this judgment remains outstanding with a modified 

judgment amount owing increased to $38,375.92 as of November 30, 2022. (See Child 

Supp Services Office of Recovery Services vs. Johnathan M. Duncan, case #126937881, 

Third District Court-Salt Lake Department, Salt Lake County, State of Utah.) 

4. The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance laws were 

not complied with: 

a. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xxi) by failing to comply with 

an administrative or court order imposing a child support obligation; 

b. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(iv) by failing to pay a final 

judgment rendered against Respondent within 60 days after the day on which the 

judgment became final; and 

c. Respondent violated 31A-23a-105(5)(a)(ii) by committing an act that is grounds for 

denial, suspension, or revocation as set forth in Section 31A-23a-111. 

5. Based on the facts and law set forth above, Respondent’s application for a resident 
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producer individual insurance license should be denied. 

 

 

Signed on this 4th day of January, 2023, in Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, State of 
 

Utah. 
 

 

 

/s/ Randy Overstreet  

Randy Overstreet, Manager, Producer Licensing 

Financial Regulation & Licensing Division 

Utah Insurance Department 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 

The undersigned hereby certifies that on this date a true and correct copy of the foregoing 

Notice of Agency Action and Order, with the Declaration attached to it, was emailed to: 

Johnathan M. Duncan 

 

  

   

  and 

 

Randy Overstreet 

Utah Insurance Department 

4315 South 2700 West, Suite 2300 

Taylorsville UT 84129  

roverstreet@utah.gov  

 
 

DATED this 4th day of January, 2023. 
 

 

 

/s/ Jeanine Couser   

Jeanine Couser 

Utah Insurance Department 

4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

(801) 957-9321 




