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NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION 
 

The Utah Insurance Department (“the Department”) commences this agency action as an 

informal adjudicative proceeding against Dakesia Harris (“Respondent”) pursuant to Utah Code 

§ 31A-2-201 and 63G-4-201 through -203 and to Utah Admin. Code R590-160. 

 

This agency action is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and 

is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-202(1) and 

Utah Admin. Code R590-160-4 and -7. 

ORDER 
 

Based on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause 

appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows: 
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1. Respondent’s non-resident producer individual insurance license number 811171 is 

revoked. 

2. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-7(1), this 

informal adjudicative proceeding shall be closed, and this Order shall become final and take full 

effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is emailed to Respondent unless a 

request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent prior to that date. 

3. A request for a hearing shall be in writing and sent by email to 

uidadmincases@utah.gov or by U.S. mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah 

Insurance Department, 4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300, Taylorsville, UT 84129. 

 

4. The request for hearing shall be signed by the person making the request and shall state 

the basis for the relief requested. 

5. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a 

hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude any further 

administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter. 

 
 

DATED this 22th day of May 2023. 

 
 

JONATHAN T. PIKE 

Utah Insurance Commissioner 
 

 

 /s/ Donald H. Hansen 

Donald H. Hansen 

Administrative Law Judge/Presiding Officer 

Utah Insurance Department 

4315 South 2700 West, Suite 2300 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

801-957-9321 

Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov
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NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER 
 

Failure to obey this Order may subject you to further penalties that include a forfeiture of 

up to $2,500 per violation, with each day of the violation constituting a separate violation. Other 

penalties for failing to obey this Order may include license suspension, probation, refusal to 

renew, or revocation. Failure to obey this Order may also result in an action being taken against 

you in a court of competent jurisdiction where forfeitures of up to $10,000 for each day the 

failure to comply continues until judgment is rendered. If you are licensed in other jurisdictions, 

you may be required to report this proceeding in those jurisdictions. 
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DECLARATION 
 

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Carrie Backus, declare the following: 

 

1. I am currently employed as a Market Conduct Examiner with the Utah Insurance 

Department (“Department”) where my responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah 

insurance laws. 

2. I submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Informal Adjudicative 

Proceeding and Order against Dakesia Harris (“Respondent”) to which this Declaration is 

attached. 

3. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the 

Department’s records and files, the following facts are true: 

a. The respondent is a Utah non-resident producer individual insurance licensee 

domiciled in Florida., Utah license number is 811171. 

b. On November 1, 2020, Respondent submitted her application for a non-resident 

producer individual insurance license. 

c. On her application, the Respondent answered “No” to the question “Have you ever 

been convicted of a felony, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged 

with committing a felony?” 

d. As a result of the information submitted by the Respondent in her application, 

Respondent’s application for a Utah non-resident producer individual insurance license was 

approved and Respondent obtained Utah license number is 811171. 

e. On January 17, 2023, the Department received notice from the National Association of 

Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) that an administrative action had been taken against the 

Respondent by the State of Florida, Respondent’s resident state, resulting from a criminal 
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conviction filed in the Fourth Judicial Circuit Court in the State of Florida. 

 

f. On November 4, 2020, just three (3) days after submitting her application for her Utah 

license, the Respondent plead guilty to one (1) count of aggravated assault and was placed on 

probation for a period of twelve (12) months. (See State of Florida v Dakesia Riana Harris, Case 

# 16-2020-CF-002563-AXXX-MA, DC Number B90935/Div-C, Fourth Judicial Circuit Court, 

Duval County, State of Florida). Respondent failed to report the criminal charges on her 

application. 

g. To date, the Respondent has failed to report her criminal conviction to the Department 

as required by Utah Code § 31A-23a-105(2)(b)(ii). 

h. Due to the seriousness of the crime, Florida, Respondent’s home state, revoked 

Respondent’s resident producer license, effective December 12, 2022. 

i. As a result of the Respondent’s criminal conviction and subsequent revocation of 

Respondent’s Florida license, the State of Idaho revoked the Respondent’s Idaho non-resident 

producer license on January 23, 2023, and South Carolina revoked the Respondent’s South 

Carolina non-resident producer license on February 27, 2023. Respondent failed to report any of 

the agency actions and subsequent revocations to the Department as required by Utah Code 

§31A-23a-111(7)(a). 

 

j. Respondent was able to secure a new home state producer license in Connecticut on 

February 27, 2023. 

4. The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance law(s) were 

not complied with: 

 

a. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-2-202(6), by failing to provide information 

submitted to the commissioner that is accurate and complete; 
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b. Respondent violated Utah Code Utah Code § 31A-23a-104(2)(b)(v), by failing to 

provide information in her application related to whether the Respondent has committed an act 

that is ground for denial, suspension, or revocation as set forth under Utah Code §§ 31A-23a- 

104, 105, or 111; 

c. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-105(2)(b)(i) by failing to report to the 

commissioner an administrative action taken against the person, including a denial of a new or 

renewal application in another jurisdiction, within 30 days of the final disposition of the 

administrative action; 

d. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-105(2)(b)(ii) by failing to report at the time 

of filing the license application a criminal prosecution taken against the Respondent; 

e. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-105(5)(a)(ii) by committing an act that is 

grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation as set forth in Section 31A-23a-111; 

f. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-107(2)(a)(ii) by failing to meet the 

trustworthy character requirement; 

g. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(i), by being unqualified for a 

license under Utah Code § 31A-23a-104, 105, or 107; 

h. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xvii), by having had an 

insurance license or other professional or occupational license, or an equivalent to an insurance 

license or registration or other professional or occupational license or registration denied, 

suspended, revoked, or surrendered to resolve an administrative action; 

i. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(ii), by violating an insurance 

statute, or a rule that is valid under Subsection 31A-2-201(3) as outlined herein; 
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j. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(ix), by providing information in 

the license application that is incorrect, misleading, incomplete, or materially untrue; 

 

k. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xiv)(A) by being convicted of a 

 

felony; 

 

l. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(7)(a) by failing to immediately report 

to the commissioner a revocation, suspension, or limitation of the Respondent’s license in 

another state, the District of Columbia, or a territory of the United States; 

m. Respondent violated Utah Code Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xi) by obtaining or 

attempting to obtain a license through misrepresentation or fraud; and 

n. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(x), by violating an insurance 

law, valid rule, or valid order of another regulatory agency in any jurisdiction. 

5. Based on Utah Code § 31A-2-308 and other similar enforcement cases, the 

Respondent’s insurance license should be revoked. 

 
 

DATED this 16th day of May 2023, at Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, Utah. 

 
 

/s/ Carrie Backus  

Carrie Backus, Examiner 

Utah Insurance Department 






