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NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION 
 

The Utah Insurance Department (“the Department”) commences this agency action as an 

informal adjudicative proceeding against Respondent Perdita Itagia Mafutaga aka Berdita Itagia 

Mafutaga (“Respondent”) pursuant to Utah Code §§ 31A-2-201 and 63G-4-201 through -203 and 

to Utah Admin. Code R590-160. 

This agency action is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and 

is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-202(1) and 

Utah Admin. Code R590-160-4 and -7. 



ORDER 
 

Based on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause 

appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows: 

1. Respondent’s application for a Utah resident producer individual insurance license is 

 

denied. 

 

2. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-7(1), this 

informal adjudicative proceeding shall be closed, and this Order shall become final and take full 

effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is emailed to Respondent unless a 

request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent prior to that date. 

3. A request for a hearing shall be in writing and sent by email to 

uidadmincases@utah.gov or by U.S. mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah 

Insurance Department, 4315 S. 2700 W., Taylorsville, UT 84129. 

 

4. The request for hearing shall state the basis for the relief requested. 

 

5. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a 

hearing is a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and precludes any further administrative 

or judicial review or appeal of this matter. 

DATED this 1st day of September 2023. 

 

JONATHAN T. PIKE 

Utah Insurance Commissioner 
 

 

      /s/ Donald H. Hansen  

DONALD H. HANSEN 

Administrative Law Judge/Presiding Officer 

Utah Insurance Department 

4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Telephone: (801) 957-9321 

Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov 



 

NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER 
 

Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include a forfeiture of 

up to $2,500 per violation, with each day of the violation constituting a separate violation. Other 

penalties for failing to obey this Order include license suspension, probation, refusal to renew, or 

revocation. Failure to obey this Order may also result in an action taken against you in a court of 

competent jurisdiction where forfeitures of up $10,000 for each day the failure to comply 

continues until judgement is rendered. If you are licensed in other jurisdictions, you may be 

required to report this proceeding to those jurisdictions. 



DECLARATION 
 

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Randy Overstreet, declare the following: 

 

1. I am currently employed as Manager of Producer Licensing in the Financial 

Regulation & Licensing Division with the Utah Insurance Department (“Department”) where my 

responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah insurance laws. 

2. I submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Agency Action and 

Order against Perdita Itagia Mafutaga aka Berdita Itagia Mafutaga (“Respondent”) to which this 

Declaration is attached. 

3. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the 

Department’s records and files, the following facts are true: 

a. Respondent applied for a Utah resident producer individual insurance license on 

August 7, 2023. 

b. Respondent answered “yes” to the question that asked whether she had ever been 

convicted of a misdemeanor and “no” to the question that asked whether she had ever 

been convicted of a felony. Respondent provided court documents and explanations of 

the following four cases, which show both the names Perdita Itagia Mafutaga and 

Berdita Itagia Mafutaga. 

c. On or about August 1, 2017, Respondent was convicted under the name Berdita Itagia 

Mafutaga of two counts of retail theft (shoplifting), each a class B misdemeanor. See 

West Valley City vs. Berdita Itagia Mafutaga, case no. 161701267, West Valley City 

Justice Court, Salt Lake County, State of Utah. 

 

d. On February 21, 2019, a judgment was entered against Respondent for $500.00, the 

balance due was transferred to the Office of State Debt Collection, and the case was 



closed. On October 23, 2019, a satisfaction of judgment was filed. Under Utah Admin. 

Code R591-281-4(1)(e)(ii), Respondent is ineligible to apply for an insurance license for 

4 years. 

e. On or about May 30, 2018, Respondent was convicted under the name Berdita Itagia 

Mafutaga of attempted false personal info with intent to be another actual person a class 

B misdemeanor. See State of Utah vs. Berdita Itagia Mafutaga, case no. 171702325, 

Second District Court – Farmington, Davis County, State of Utah. 

 

f. The case was closed on July 22, 2020. Under Utah Admin. Code R591-281- 

4(1)(e)(ii), Respondent is ineligible to apply for an insurance license for 4 years. 

g. On or about May 30, 2018, Respondent was convicted under the name of Berdita 

Itagia Mafutaga of false personal info with intent to be another actual person, a class A 

misdemeanor, and of theft, a class B misdemeanor. See State of Utah vs. Berdita Itagia 

Mafutaga, case no. 181700885, Second District Court – Farmington, Davis County, 
 

State of Utah. 

 

h. On June 13, 2018, Respondent was placed on supervised probation for 24 months. 

 

On July 29, 2020, tracking ended for court probation. Under Utah Admin. Code R591- 

281-4(1)(e)(ii), Respondent is ineligible to apply for an insurance license for 5 years. 

i. On or about March 16, 2020, Respondent entered a plea in abeyance to theft, a 3rd 

degree felony and was placed on probation for 18 months. At a review hearing on 

September 13, 2021, the charge was amended to a class A misdemeanor under Utah 

Code § 76-3-402. The case was closed on September 14, 2021. See State of Utah vs. 

Perdita Itagia Mafutaga, case no. 191903646, Third District Court – Salt Lake, Salt Lake 
 

County, State of Utah. 



j. Respondent’s 402 reduction to a class A misdemeanor was granted on September 13, 

2021. Under Utah Admin. Code R591-281-4(1)(e)(ii), Respondent is ineligible to apply 

for an insurance license for 5 years. 

k. Under Utah Admin. Code R591-281-4(4)(c), an application for written consent is 

required even if a felony conviction involving dishonesty or breach of trust has been 

reduced to a lower degree of offence pursuant to Section 76-3-402. Respondent did not 

submit an application for written consent. 

4. The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance laws were 

not complied with: 

a. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b) authorizes the Commissioner to act in compliance 

with the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, 18 U.S.C. 1033. 

Despite the subsequent reduction under to a class A misdemeanor under Utah Code § 

76-3-402, Respondent was convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or breach of 

trust. Having failed to obtain from the Commissioner the required written consent to 

engage or participate in the business of insurance, Respondent is prohibited from 

engaging in the business of insurance pursuant to Utah Code § 31A-23a- 

111(5)(b)(xxv) and 18 U.S.C. 1033(e)(2); 

b. Utah Code § 31A-23a-105(5)(a)(ii), committing an act that is grounds for denial, 

suspension, or revocation as set forth in Section 31A-23a-111; 

c. Utah Code § 31A-23a-107(2)(a)(ii), failing to meet the trustworthy character 

requirement; 

d. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(i), unqualified for a license under Utah Code § 31A- 

23a-104, -105, or -107; 



e. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(ii)(A), violating an insurance statute; 

 

f. Utah Admin. Code R590-281-4(4)(1)(e), applying for a license prior to the end of the 

required time period resulting from Respondent’s misdemeanor convictions involving 

fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty; and 

g. Utah Admin. Code R590-281-4(4)(a)(i), applying for a license without first obtaining 

written consent from the Commissioner to engage or participate in the business of 

insurance. 

5. Based on the facts and law set forth above, Respondent’s application for a resident 

limited line producer individual insurance license should be denied. 

Signed on this 31st day of August 2023, in Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, State of 

 

Utah. 

 

 

/s/ Randy Overstreet  

Randy Overstreet, Manager, Producer Licensing 

Financial Regulation & Licensing Division 

Utah Insurance Department 



CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 

The undersigned hereby certifies that on this date a true and correct copy of the foregoing 

Notice of Agency Action and Order, with the Declaration attached to it, was emailed to: 

Perdita Itagia Mafutaga 

 

 

 

 

 

Randy Overstreet 

 

Utah Insurance Department 

4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

and 

Helen Frohlich 

hfrohlich@agutah.gov 

160 E. 300 S., 5th Floor 

P.O. Box 140874 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-0874 

 
 

DATED this 1st day of September 2023. 

 

 

/s/ Jeanine Couser   

Jeanine Couser 

Utah Insurance Department 

4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

(801) 957-9321 




