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NOTICE OF AGENCY ACTION 
 

The Utah Insurance Department (“the Department”) commences this agency action as an 

informal adjudicative proceeding against Respondent William James Castle (“Respondent”) 

pursuant to Utah Code §§ 31A-2-201 and 63G-4-201 through -203 and to Utah Admin. Code 

R590-160. 

This agency action is based on the facts and law set forth in the attached Declaration and 

is designated as an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-202(1) and 

Utah Admin Code R590-160-4 and -7. 

ORDER 
 

Based on the facts and the law set forth in the attached Declaration, and good cause 
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appearing, the Utah Insurance Commissioner orders as follows: 

 

1. Respondent’s application for a Utah resident producer individual insurance license is 

 

denied. 

 

2. Pursuant to Utah Code § 63G-4-203(1)(i) and Utah Admin. Code R590-160-7(1), this 

informal adjudicative proceeding shall be deemed closed, and this Order shall become final and 

take full effect, 15 days after this Notice of Agency Action and Order is emailed to Respondent 

unless a request for a hearing on this matter is received from Respondent prior to that date. 

3. A request for a hearing shall be in writing and sent by email to 

uidadmincases@utah.gov or by U.S. mail to Office of the Administrative Law Judge, Utah 

Insurance Department, 4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300, Taylorsville, UT 84129. 

 

4. The request for hearing shall be signed by the person making the request and 

shall state the basis for the relief requested. 

5. If you fail to request a hearing you will be bound by this Order. Failure to request a 

hearing will be deemed a failure to exhaust administrative remedies and will preclude any further 

administrative or judicial review or appeal of this matter. 

DATED this 4th day of December 2023. 

 
 

JONATHAN T. PIKE 

Utah Insurance Commissioner 
 

 

/s/ Donald H. Hansen  

DONALD H. HANSEN 

Administrative Law Judge/Presiding Officer 

Utah Insurance Department 

4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Telephone: (801) 957-9321 

Email: uidadmincases@utah.gov 
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NOTICE REGARDING ENFORCEMENT OF THE ORDER 
 

Failure to obey the Order may subject you to further penalties that include a forfeiture of 

up to $2,500 per violation, with each day of the violation constituting a separate violation. Other 

penalties for failing to obey this Order include license suspension, probation, refusal to renew, or 

revocation. Failure to obey this Order may also result in an action being taken against you in a 

court of competent where forfeitures of up to $10,000 for each day the failure to comply 

continues until judgement is rendered. If you are licensed in other jurisdictions, you may be 

required to report this proceeding to those jurisdictions. 
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DECLARATION 
 

 

Under criminal penalty of Utah law, I, Randy Overstreet, declare the following: 

 

1. I am currently employed as Manager of Producer Licensing in the Financial 

Regulation & Licensing Division with the Utah Insurance Department (“Department”) where my 

responsibilities include investigating and enforcing Utah insurance laws. 

2. I submit this Declaration as the basis for issuing the Notice of Agency Action and 

Order against William James Castle (“Respondent”) to which this Declaration is attached. 

3. Based on my personal knowledge and/or based on the facts appearing in the 

Department’s records and files, the following facts are true: 

a. On November 5, 2023, Respondent applied for a Utah resident producer individual 

insurance license. 

b. In his application, Respondent answered “yes” to the question that asked, “have you 

ever been convicted of a felony, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently 

charged with committing a felony”. 

c. In connection with his license application, Respondent provided the Department with 

court records pertaining to his felony criminal conviction. 

d. On November 10, 1992, Respondent was charged with one (1) count of Robbery, a 

Class B felony in violation of North Dakota statute § 12.1.22.01, N.D.C.C. The complaint 

alleged that Respondent entered a Mini Mart store for the purpose of committing a theft from the 

cash register and threatened or menaced the store clerk by his use and possession of a firearm or 

other dangerous weapon. On January 14, 1993, Respondent was convicted of one (1) count of 

Robbery, a Class B felony. Respondent was sentenced to imprisonment in the North Dakota 
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State Penitentiary for a period of four years. (See State of North Dakota vs. William James 

Castle, Case # Cr. 92-269, District Court, County of Cass, State of North Dakota). 

e. Under Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xxv) and 18 U.S.C. § 1033(e)(2), Respondent’s 

conviction qualifies as a felony conviction involving dishonesty or breach of trust, requiring the 

Respondent to obtain written consent from the Commissioner to engage or participate in the 

business of insurance. Pursuant to R590-281-4(4)(c)(i), an application for written consent is 

required even if a felony conviction involving dishonesty or breach of trust has been reduced to a 

lower degree of offense pursuant to Section 76-3-402. 

f. Respondent failed to submit the written consent of the Commissioner to engage in the 

business of insurance in Utah at the time he filed his application, which disqualifies him from 

obtaining an insurance license in Utah. 

g. Further, in his application, Respondent answered “no” to the question that asked, 

“Have you been notified by any jurisdiction to which you are applying of any delinquent tax 

obligation that is not the subject of a repayment agreement?”. 

h. Documents I have reviewed show Respondent has several delinquent tax obligations 

that he failed to report in his application to the Department, as required by Utah law. 

i. On November 16, 2020, a paperless tax lien was filed, and a monetary judgement 

entered against Respondent for income tax due from tax year 2015 in the amount of $5,204.59 in 

favor of the Utah State Tax Commission. Based upon the court documents that I reviewed, this 

tax lien/monetary judgment remains outstanding. (See Utah State Tax Commission vs. William 

Castle et al., Case # 206411608, Fourth District Court-Provo Department, Utah County, State of 

Utah). 
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j. On January 25, 2021, a paperless tax lien was filed, and a monetary judgement entered 

against Respondent for income tax due from tax year 2014 in the amount of $5,071.82 in favor 

of the Utah State Tax Commission. Based upon the court documents that I reviewed, this tax 

lien/monetary judgment remains outstanding. (See Utah State Tax Commission vs. William 

Castle et al., Case # 216401340, Fourth District Court-Provo Department, Utah County, State of 

Utah). 

k. On May 17, 2021, a paperless tax lien was filed, and a monetary judgement entered 

against Respondent for income tax due from tax year 2017 in the amount of $504.42 in favor of 

the Utah State Tax Commission. Based upon the court documents that I reviewed, this tax 

lien/monetary judgment remains outstanding. (See Utah State Tax Commission vs. William 

Castle et al., Case # 216404239, Fourth District Court-Provo Department, Utah County, State of 

Utah). 

l. On May 17, 2021, a paperless tax lien was filed, and a monetary judgement entered 

against Respondent for income tax due from tax year 2014 in the amount of $2,326.97 in favor 

of the Utah State Tax Commission. Based upon the court documents that I reviewed, this tax 

lien/monetary judgment remains outstanding. (See Utah State Tax Commission vs. William 

Castle et al., Case # 216404360, Fourth District Court-Provo Department, Utah County, State of 

Utah). 

m. On August 16, 2021, a paperless tax lien was filed, and a monetary judgement entered 

against Respondent for income tax due from tax year 2015 in the amount of $830.49 in favor of 

the Utah State Tax Commission. Based upon the court documents that I reviewed, this tax 

lien/monetary judgment remains outstanding. (See Utah State Tax Commission vs. William 
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Castle et al., Case # 216406629, Fourth District Court-Provo Department, Utah County, State of 

Utah). 

n. On October 17, 2022, a paperless tax lien was filed, and a monetary judgement entered 

against Respondent for income tax due from tax year 2020 in the amount of $1,456.05 in favor 

of the Utah State Tax Commission. Based upon the court documents that I reviewed, this tax 

lien/monetary judgment remains outstanding. (See Utah State Tax Commission vs. William 

Castle et al., Case # 226410205, Fourth District Court-Provo Department, Utah County, State of 

Utah). 

o. On October 17, 2022, a paperless tax lien was filed, and a monetary judgement entered 

against Respondent for income tax due from tax year 2019 in the amount of $1,783.25 in favor 

of the Utah State Tax Commission. Based upon the court documents that I reviewed, this tax 

lien/monetary judgment remains outstanding. (See Utah State Tax Commission vs. William 

Castle et al., Case # 226410299, Fourth District Court-Provo Department, Utah County, State of 

Utah). 

4. The above declared facts demonstrate that the following Utah insurance laws were 

not complied with: 

a. Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b) authorizes the Commissioner to act in compliance 

with the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, 18 U.S.C. §1033. Having 

been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or breach of trust and having failed to obtain 

from the Commissioner the required written consent to engage or participate in the business of 

insurance, Respondent is prohibited from engaging in the business of insurance pursuant to Utah 

Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xxv) and 18 U.S.C. § 1033(e)(2); 
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b. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xiv), by having been convicted 

of a felony; 

c. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-105(5)(a)(ii) by committing an act that is 

grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation as set forth in Section 31A-23a-l l l; 

d. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-107(2)(a)(ii), by failing to meet the 

trustworthy character requirement; 

e. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(i), by being unqualified for a 

license under Utah Code § 31A-23a-104, 105, or 107; 

f. Respondent violated Utah Administrative Rule R590-281-4(4)(a)(i), by applying for a 

license without first obtaining written consent from the Commissioner to engage or participate in 

the business of insurance; 

g. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xxii) by failing to pay state 

income tax, or to comply with an administrative or court order directing payment of state income 

tax; 

h. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(iv) by failing to pay a final 

judgment rendered against Respondent within 60 days after the day on which the judgment 

became final; 

i. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-104(2)(b)(v), by failing to provide 

information in his application related to whether the Respondent has committed an act that is 

ground for denial, suspension, or revocation as set forth under Utah Code §§ 31A-23a-104, 105, 

or 111; 

j. Respondent violated Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(ix), by providing information in 

the license application that is incorrect, misleading, incomplete, or materially untrue; and 
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k. Respondent violated Utah Code Utah Code § 31A-23a-111(5)(b)(xi) by obtaining or 

attempting to obtain a license through misrepresentation or fraud. 

5. Based on the facts and law set forth above, Respondent’s application for a resident 

producer individual insurance license should be denied. 

 

Signed on this 30th day of November 2023, in Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, State of 

 

Utah. 

 

 

/s/ Randy Overstreet  

Randy Overstreet, Manager, Producer Licensing 

Financial Regulation & Licensing Division 

Utah Insurance Department 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 

The undersigned hereby certifies that on this date a true and correct copy of the foregoing 

Notice of Agency Action and Order, with the Declaration attached to it, was emailed to: 

William James Castle 

 

 

 

 

and 

 

Randy Overstreet 

Utah Insurance Department 

4315 South 2700 West, Suite 2300 

Taylorsville UT 84129 

 

 
 

DATED this 4th day of December 2023. 

 

 

 

  

         /s/ Jeanine Couser   

Jeanine Couser 

Utah Insurance Department 

4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

(801) 957-9321 




