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June 28, 2010      PUBLIC LETTER OF ADMONITION 
 
John Richmond, VP of Regulatory Affairs 
AAA Northern California, Nevada & Utah 
3055 Oak Road 
Walnut Creek, CA  94597 
 
Re: Investigative case #58144 – Automobile Club of Utah - Utilization of unlicensed and non 
designated limited line producers 
 
Based upon information contained in Utah Insurance Department files, Automobile Club of Utah 
is hereby issued this Public Letter of Admonition.  In failing to ensure that all your employees 
involved in the solicitation, negotiation and/or sales of travel insurance were properly licensed 
and designated to your agency, Automobile Club of Utah violated the following statues and rule 
and subject to penalties as allowed by law: 
 

Utah Code Annotated (U.C.A.) §31A-23a-103(1) (a) & (c)  states “Unless exempted 
from the licensing requirement under 31A-23a-207 or 31A-23a-207, a person may not 
perform, offer to perform, or advertise any service as a producer, limited line producer… 
without a valid individual or agency license issued under this chapter.  A person may not 
utilize the services of another as a producer, limited line producer… if that person knows 
or should know that the other does not have a license as required by law”. 
 
Utah Code Annotated (U.C.A.) §31A-23a-302(1) & (2)  states “An agency shall 
designate an individual producer, limited line producer… to act on the agency’s behalf in 
order for the licensee to do business for the agency in this state.  An agency shall report to 
the commissioner, at intervals and in the form the commissioner establishes by rule a new 
designation and a terminated designation”. 
 
 Utah Administrative Code Insurance Rule R590-244-10(1) & (2) states “An agency 
shall electronically designate a licensed individual to do business on behalf of the agency 
in this state… and to submit the designation to the commissioner no later than 15 day 
after the identified effective date of designation using SIRCON or NIPR…. and to 
terminate an individual’s designation… no later than 30 days after the identified effective 
date of termination”. 
 
 

At this time, the recommendation for Automobile Club of Utah to forfeit $3000 per violation is 
waived on the condition that current and future employees involved in the solicitation, 
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negotiation and sales of travel insurance are properly licensed and designated to your agency.  
For information regarding proper licensing and agency designation, the producer licensing 
division is an available resource and may be contacted at 801-538-3855 or email 
licensing.uid@utah.gov. You may also review information regarding Limited Lines Producers 
Licenses in Utah Insurance Bulletin 2010-3, at our website – www.insurance.utah.gov.  
 
Failure to ensure all employees who are involved in the solicitation, negotiation and sales of 
travel insurance are properly licensed and designated, will be cause for an immediate 
reinstatement of the recommendation action of the $3000 per violation forfeiture?    
 
Any questions regarding this action should be directed to the undersigned.   
  
Respectfully, 
 
NEAL T. GOOCH 
INSURANCE COMMISSIONER 
 
 
 
Richard Grieser 
Market Conducer Examiner 
801-537-9057 
rgrieser@utah.gov 
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