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Accredited Reinsurance 
QUALIFICATION CHECKLIST 

 

Company Name   
 

State of Domicile                       NAIC Company #                       

Date Organized                        

  

NAIC Group #                       
 

Address   
 

Item 
Date 

Received 
Date 

Approved 
 

1. Application with Fee $1,050 ($1,000 Application Fee    
 

and $50 E- Commerce Fee) 
 

2. Certificate of Compliance from domestic state 
 

3. Certificate of Statutory Deposit    
 

4. Legal Opinion & code section from other state 
 

5. Certificate of Assuming Insurer 
 

6. Annual Statement 
 

7. List of all jurisdictions 
 

8. Risk Based Capital 
 

9. Financial Examination Report as of    
 
 
 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: 

Date Rec’d 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Date Approved   
 

Date Denied       Reason for Denial or Withdrawal   
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UTAH INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 
 

APPLICATION INFORMATION FORM 
FOR RECOGNITION AS ACCREDITED REINSURER 

($1,000 FEE required with this form – R590-102-6) 
(E-Commerce fee $50 – R590-102-23) 

 
NAME OF INSURER    

 
Administrative Mailing Address: 

 

Street    

PO Box   

City/State/Zip     

Telephone Number                          -              -                   

Fax Number    

Annual Statement Contact 

Name of person to contact                                                                                                                       

Title                                                                                                                            

Address, if different from above                                                                                                                            

Direct Phone Number                          -              -                   

FAX Number                          -              -                   

Date organized      State or Country of Domicile       

NAIC Number        Company          Group     

 
 
 
 

Is this a subsidiary?  If so, list parent company:    
 

Is this a parent company?  If so, list insurance subsidiaries: 
 
 
 
 

List states and countries in which the company is an admitted, licensed insurer: 

List states in which company is a recognized Reinsurer. 
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CERTIFICATE OF ASSUMING INSURER 
 

1.    , 
(Name of officer) (Title of officer) 

 
of                                                                                                                  , the assuming insurer 

(Name of assuming insurer) 
under a reinsurance agreement(s) with one or more insurers domiciled in the State of Utah, hereby 

 
certify that    (Assuming Insurer) 

(Name of assuming insurer) 
 

1.         Submits to the Jurisdiction of any court of competent jurisdiction in the State of Utah for the 
adjudication of any issues arising out of the reinsurance agreement(s), agrees to comply with all 
requirements necessary to give such court jurisdiction, and will abide by the final decision of such 
court or any appellate court in the event of an appeal.  Nothing in this paragraph constitutes or 
should be understood to constitute a waiver of Assuming Insurer’s rights to commence an action in 

any court of competent jurisdiction in the United States, to remove an action to a United States 
District Court, or to seek a transfer of a case to another court as permitted by the laws of the United 
States or of any state in the United States. This paragraph is not intended to conflict with or override 
the obligation of the parties to the reinsurance agreement(s) to arbitrate their disputes if such an 
obligation is created in the agreement(s). 

 
2.         Designates the Insurance Commissioner of the State of Utah as its lawful attorney upon 
whom may be served any lawful process in any action, suit or proceeding arising out of the 
reinsurance agreement(s) instituted by or on behalf of the ceding insurer.  We designate (name & 
complete address)                 as 
the person to whom the Commissioner shall forward all legal processes against this company 
served upon him. 

 
3.         Submits to the authority of the Insurance Commissioner of the State of Utah to examine its 
books and records and agrees to bear the expense of any such examination. 

 
4.         Submits with this form a current list of insurers domiciled in the State of Utah reinsured by 
Assuming Insurer, and undertakes to submit additions to or deletions from the list to the Insurance 
Commissioner at least once per calendar year. 

 
Dated:                                                                                                                                                  

 

(Name of assuming insurer) 
 

By:      
(Signature of officer) 

 

 
(Title of officer) 
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STATE OF UTAH 
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

 
Requirements for a foreign insurer seeking Status as an Accredited Reinsurer in the State of Utah.  Utah 
Insurance Code 31A-17-404 included. 

 
The following items and statements must accompany your letter of request: 

 

 
1. Application for Accredited Reinsurer - The reinsurer must be an authorized insurer in at least one 

state which the Utah Commissioner designates by rule or order as having been found to enforce 
standards regarding credit for reinsurance substantially similar to those applicable under Utah 
Insurance Code 31A-17-404. Fee is $1,050 which must accompany application. 

 

2. Certificate of Compliance - An original certificate over the signature and seal of applicant’s 

domestic regulatory authority showing that applicant is duly organized under the laws of such 
jurisdiction and is authorized to transact the business of insurance. Clarification of lines of authority 
if lines of authority are indicated by alphabet or number only. Certificate must not be older than 
three months. 

 
3.         Certificate of Statutory Deposit (Original not dated over three months from date of application.) 

 
4. Name of State and Legal Opinion   that the state does enforce standards regarding credit for 

reinsurance that are substantially similar to the requirements of Utah Insurance Code Section 31A-17-
404 (5)(a)(ii). A copy of the section of the law from the state must accompany the opinion. 

 
5. Certificate of Assuming Insurer (form enclosed) must include name and address of  designated 

person to whom Commissioner shall forward all legal processes against this company served upon 
him. 

 
6. Annual Statement - the most recent filing, including substantially the same information as that 

required of authorized insurers, on the National Association of Insurance Commissioners Annual 
Statement form described in Section 31A-4-113 of the Utah Insurance Code. This Statement shall be 
submitted with the initial application and no later than March 1 of each renewal year. Statement shall 
have original signatures. 

 
7. List of all jurisdictions - A statement listing all jurisdictions in which the applicant has applied for 

recognition to conduct a Reinsurance business and dates and results of those applications. 

 
8. Risk Based Capital - A copy of the applicant’s most recent Risk Based Capital Report submitted in 

the level of detail required by the NAIC. 
 

9. Financial Examination Report - Certified by company=s domestic state less than 3 months from date 

of submission. Must be less than 3 years since date of examination. 
 

The Order Granting Status as Accredited Reinsurer is granted for the period ending March 1 of the 
subsequent year, subject to annual renewal thereafter following the terms and conditions set forth in 
the Order. It is the responsibility of the reinsurer to renew the application and submit the documents 
required in Utah Insurance Code Section 31A-17-404.  Annual Fee $500.  E-Commerce Technology 
Fee $50. 


