Marketer Application

Health Discount Program

Every section must be completed or marked with N/A (Not Applicable) and an appropriate explanation provided.

Section 1 - Fees and Application Submission

Section 1-1 Licensing Fees

Initial license: $300. The fee may be paid with a check or via credit card. To make a credit card payment, please
call 801-538-3890 after receiving an invoice. The invoice will be provided upon receipt of the application. The
application will not be considered until the fee is paid.

License Renewal: $450. Licenses renew annually December 31, regardless of when the initial license is issued
during the year. Invoices will be emailed in mid-November. The renewal application must be submitted and the fee
must be paid no later than the due date on the invoice. Late renewals are subject to late fees and possible
administrative action for conducting unlicensed business.

Section 1-2 Application Submission

All submissions must be complete and packaged into one PDF document that includes the application, checklist
and required documents described below. Applications will be reviewed within 30 days of receipt. You will be
notified by email if additional information is required. You are required to respond within 14 days with any
additional information requested. If you fail to provide requested information, the application will be denied and the
fees paid will be forfeited.

Please identify each attachment by the section number reference. For instance, 3-1 would identify the Articles
of Incorporation. Email to: hdp@utah.gov.

The license fee will be invoiced to you once we receive your application. The invoice is due upon receipt. Please
send an email to hdp@utah.gov as evidence the invoice has been paid, so the application process can continue.

Section 2 —-Biographical Information
Entity Type: Select one

[J Corporation [J Limited Liability Partnership
[J Limited Liability Company [J Limited Partnership
[1 Sole Proprietorship [1 Association

Legal Name of Applicant:

Name(s) of any/all aliases:

EIN:

State of Incorporation:

Primary Contact. The authorized person responsible for certifying that the Applicant is compliant with Utah
statutes and rules.

* The email provided in this section will be used for all correspondence.

Name: *Email address:
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Address:

Phone: Fax:

Mailing Address:

Business Address:
Licenses are required to report address, email and phone changes within 30 days as required by 31A-23a-412(1)(c) and

R590-244-13(2).

Toll Free Phone Number for Members and Providers:

Applicant Website Address:

Is the Health Discount Program a dental office or physician office offering a health discount program to patients?
Yes No

Section 3 - Legal

Section 3-1 Authorized to transact business in Utah
Provide evidence of compliance a person is authorized to transact business in Utah.
Division of Corporations and Commercial Code

Section 3-2 Articles of Incorporation and By-Laws
Provide the applicant’s Articles of Incorporation or other organizing documents, including all amendments. Include
a copy of the By-Laws, Constitution or operating agreement in this section.

Section 3-3 Complete list of Principals
Include the following identify information; names, addresses, email addresses, phone numbers.

Section 3-4 Owners/Biographical Affidavits
Submit a biographical affidavit for each individual person owning 10% or more of the applicant. The form to use
is found at: https://content.naic.org/sites/default/files/ucaa-industry-naic-biographical-affidavit.pdf

Applicant is solely owned by another legal entity. In this instance, no biographical affidavits are required.
Provide the name, address and phone number for the solely owned legal entity.

Section 3-5 Managers
Provide a list of managers/supervisors who handle the day-to-day operations.

Section 3-6 Background Questions

1. Has the Applicant or any of its officers, owners, directors, trustees, partners or managers ever been
convicted of any criminal offense? Yes No

If “Yes,” provide documentation showing the charges and resolution of the offense.
2. Has the Applicant or any of its officers, owners, directors, trustees, partners, or managers ever had any
regulatory action in any jurisdiction?  Yes__ No___
If “Yes,” provide documentation showing the charges and resolution of the offense.
3. Does the Applicant or any of its officers, owners, directors, trustees, partners, or managers have any
pending criminal, civil or administrative actions pending in any jurisdiction?
Yes No

If “Yes,” provide documentation showing the charges and resolution of the offense.
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Section 3-7 Licensing in other jurisdictions
1. Provide a list of all states in which the Applicant is or was at any time engaged in the business of a health

discount program (also known as a medical discount program or discount medical provider organization.)
2. Provide a list of all health discount program licenses and insurance license held by the applicant.

Section 4 - Contracts

Section 4-1 Operator Contracts
Provide a list of all operators the Applicant has contracted with to distribute a health discount program. Include a
copy of each executed agreement/contract and contact information for the operator.

Section 5 - Acknowledgement of Understanding
The Applicant understands and acknowledges that:

1. The Department conducts investigations and audits of health discount programs. The Applicant is expected
to respond promptly to inquiries from the Department and cooperate with any investigation or audit.

2. ltisrequired to maintain detailed books and records of all Utah transactions, all contracts or agreements
with providers of the services under a health discount program offered in Utah or sold to Utah residents.

3. It must have written approval from the operator for all marketing materials prior to use. The Applicant must
have an executed contract/agreement with the operator prior to the Applicant conducting business in Utah.

4. It must conduct business under its legal name, or an alias, that has been filed with the Department prior to
use.

5. It may not state or imply that health discount program benefits are insurance. All marketing material must
specifically state the health discount program is not insurance. Certain terms commonly associated with
health insurance plans are prohibited.

6. It may not state or imply that any health discount program has the approval or endorsement of the Utah
Insurance Department.

7. Any name changes, change in business, mailing or email address changes, or change of ownership or
principals, is required to be reported to the Department 30 days prior to the change.

8. Any administrative action or criminal prosecution against the health discount program, or an owner, officer,
or principal. Disclosures of administrative actions are required to be filed within 30 days of the final
disposition of the administrative action; disclosures of criminal prosecutions are required to be filed within
30 days after the initial appearance before a court.

9. The initial license fee is $300. Renewal fees are $450. Renewal fees and applications are due no later than
December 31 annually. Fees are non-refundable.

10. Providing false, misleading or incomplete information in connection with this application is grounds for
administrative action including denial or revocation of the license.

| HEREBY CERTIFY that the above items have been reviewed, responses are correct, and this application complies with
Utah laws and rules. An application will be rejected if an incomplete or false certification is submitted. A false certification is
subject to penalties under Utah Code Annotated Section 31A-2-308. Those penalties include monetary forfeitures and/or other
sanctions.

Signature of Officer/Authorized Representative Date
[831A-8a-201(2)(b)]

Print Name Title

Applicable laws include, but are not limited to §31A-8a , R590-152, R590-102, and R590-244-13
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