Operator Application

I Health Discount Program

Every section must be completed or marked with N/A (Not Applicable) and an appropriate explanation provided.

Section 1 - Fees and Application Submission

Section 1-1 Licensing Fees

Initial license: $300. The fee may be paid with a check or via credit card. To make a credit card
payment, please call 801-957-9217 after receiving an invoice. The invoice will be provided upon
receipt of the application. The application will not be considered until the fee is paid.

License Renewal: $450. Licenses renew annually December 31, regardless of when the initial license is
issued during the year. Invoices will be emailed in mid-November. The renewal application must be
submitted and the fee must be paid no later than the due date on the invoice. Late renewals are subject to
late fees and possible administrative action for conducting unlicensed business.

Section 1-2 Application Submission

All submissions must be complete and packaged into one PDF document that includes the application,
checklist, and required documents described below. Applications will be reviewed within 30 days of
receipt. You will be notified by email if additional information is required. You are required to respond
within 14 days with any additional information requested. If you fail to provide requested information, the
application will be denied and the fees paid will be forfeited.

Please identify each attachment by the section number reference. For instance, 3-1 would identify
the Articles of Incorporation.

The license fee will be invoiced to you once we receive your application. The invoice is due upon
receipt. Please send an email to hdp@utah.gov as evidence the invoice has been paid, so the
application process can continue.

Section 2 —Biographical Information
Entity Type: Select one

[1 Corporation [ Limited Liability Partnership
[1 Limited Liability Company [J Limited Partnership
71 Sole Proprietorship 1 Association

Legal Name of Applicant:

Name(s) of any/all aliases:

EIN:

State of Incorporation:

Primary Contact. The authorized person responsible for certifying that the Applicant is compliant
with Utah statutes and rules.
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*The email provided in this section will be used for all correspondence.

Name: *Email address:
Address:
Phone: Fax:

Mailing Address:

Business Address:

Licenses are required to report address, email and phone changes within 30 days as required by
31A-23a-412(1)(c) and R590-244-13(2).

Toll Free Phone Number for Members and Providers:

Applicant Website Address:

Is the Health Discount Program a dental office or physician office offering a health discount program to
patients? Yes No

Section 3 - Legal
Section 3-1 Authorized to transact business in Utah

Provide evidence of compliance a person is authorized to transact business in Utah.

Division of Corporations and Commercial Code

Section 3-2 Articles of Incorporation and By-Laws

Provide the applicant’s Articles of Incorporation or other organizing documents, including all
amendments. Include an executed copy of the By-Laws, Constitution or Operating Agreement in this
section.

Section 3-3 Complete list of Principals
Include the following identify information; names, addresses, email addresses, phone numbers.

Section 3-4 Owners/Biographical Affidavits
Submit a biographical affidavit for each person owning 10% or more of the applicant. The form to use
is found at: https://content.naic.org/sites/default/files/ucaa-industry-naic-biographical-affidavit.pdf

1 Applicant is solely owned by another legal entity. In this instance, no biographical affidavits are

0 Provide the name, address and phone number for the solely owned legal entity.
Legal entity ownership information:

Legal entity name:

Complete address:

Contact person, include phone and email:

Section 3-5 Managers
Provide a list of managers/supervisors responsible for the day-to-day operations.

Section 3-6 Background Questions
1. Has the Applicant or any of its officers, owners, directors, trustees, partners or managers ever
been convicted of any criminal offense? Yes No

If “Yes,” provide documentation showing the charges and resolution of the offense.
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2. Has the Applicant or any of its officers, owners, directors, trustees, partners, or managers ever
had any regulatory action in any jurisdiction? Yes_ No___
If “Yes,” provide documentation showing the charges and resolution of the offense.
3. Does the Applicant or any of its officers, owners, directors, trustees, partners, or managers have
any pending criminal, civil or administrative actions pending in any jurisdiction?
Yes No_
If “Yes,” provide documentation showing the charges and resolution of the offense.

Section 3-7 Licensing in other jurisdictions
1. Provide a list of all states in which the Applicant is or was at any time engaged in the business of

a health discount program (also known as a medical discount program or discount medical
provider organization.)

2. Provide a list of all health discount program licenses and insurance license(s) held by the
applicant.

Section 4 - Operations

Section 4-1 Administrative Process
Provide an explanation of the entity, its facilities and staff, and the health care services or products the
entity will provide in Utah.

Section 4-2 Enrollment, Cancellations/Refunds, and Dispute Resolution
1. Provide an explanation of how subscribers are to be enrolled in the health discount program.

2. Provide a description of cancellation/refund policies.
» Refund policies must be in compliance with §31A-8a-205.5 Free look right.
3. Provide a description of member dispute resolution procedures.

Section 4-3 Fee Schedule
Provide a complete description of all fees charged to members of the health discount program including,
but not limited to, periodic fees, processing fees, and cancellation fees.

Section 4-4 Advertisements
1. Provide a description of the proposed method of marketing and distribution of the health discount

program.

2. Provide copies of all marketing/advertising material. This includes but is not limited to: direct
mail advertisements, newspaper/magazine ads, radio scripts, TV scripts, websites, and emails.

Section 5 - Contracts

Section 5-1 Provider Contracts

Provide a list of all healthcare providers or healthcare provider networks the discount program has
contracted with for the provision of services to members. Include an executed copy of each contract with
contact information for each provider/provider network.

Section 5-2 Marketer Contracts and Marketer List

Include a copy of each executed agreement/contract and contact information for the marketer.

Provide a list of all marketers the discount program will use to market and promote the program in Utah.
> Updated Marketer list are due by the 15" day following the last day of each

quarter. Email to: hdp@utah.gov.
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Section 6 - Acknowledgement of Understanding

The Applicant understands and acknowledges that:

1.
2.

10.

11.
12.

A current list of marketers is due within 15 days of the last day of each quarter.
It is bound by and responsible for the activities of all marketers that promote or sell the health
discount program in Utah. The Applicant must provide written approval to the marketer for all
marketing materials prior to use. The Applicant must have an executed contract/agreement with
the marketer prior to the marketer conducting business in Utah.
The Department conducts investigations and audits of health discount programs. The Applicant is
expected to respond promptly to inquiries from the Department and cooperate with any
investigation or audit.
It is required to maintain detailed books and records of all Utah transactions, all contracts or
agreements with providers of the services under a health discount program offered in Utah or sold
to Utah residents.
It may not state or imply that its benefits are insurance. All marketing material must specifically
state that the health discount program is not insurance. It may not utilize certain terms that are
commonly associated with health insurance plans.
It may not state or imply that any health discount program has the approval or endorsement of the
Utah Insurance Department.
It must conduct business under its legal name, or an alias, filed with the Department before it is
used.
Any changes to the organization name, change in business, mailing or email address, or change of
ownership or principals is required to be reported to the Department thirty (30) days prior to the
change.
It shall report to the Department any administrative action or criminal prosecution against the
health discount program, or an owner, officer, or principal.

a. disclosures of administrative actions are required to be filed within thirty (30) days of the

final disposition of the administrative action
b. disclosures of criminal prosecutions are required to be filed within thirty (30) days after
the initial appearance before a court.

The initial license fee is $300. Renewal fees are $450. Renewal fees and applications are due no
later than December 31 annually.
Fees are non-refundable.
Providing false, misleading or incomplete information in connection with this application is
grounds for administrative action including denial or revocation of the license.

| HEREBY CERTIFY that the above items have been reviewed, responses are correct, and this application
complies with Utah laws and rules. An application will be rejected if an incomplete or false certification is
submitted. A false certification is subject to penalties under Utah Code Annotated Section 31A-2-308. Those
penalties include monetary forfeitures and/or other sanctions.

Signature of Officer / Authorized Representative Date
[831A-8a-201(2)(b)]

Print Name Title

Applicable laws include, but are not limited to §31A-8a , R590-152, R590-102, and R590-244-13
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