
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-282.  Pharmacy Benefit Managers. 
R590-282-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated pursuant to: 
 (1)  Subsection 31A-2-201(3), which authorizes the commissioner 
to make rules to implement the provisions of Title 31A; 
 (2)  Subsection 31A-46-202(1)(a) which authorizes the 
commissioner to make a rule to establish the method and forms to submit 
an application, and; 
 (3)  Subsection 31A-46-301(3)(c)(ii), which authorizes the 
commissioner to make a rule for the manner in which a pharmacy benefit 
manager may submit corrections and information with supporting 
evidence and comments. 
 
R590-282-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  define terms; 
 (b)  provide licensing requirements; and 
 (c)  establish the format for reporting data. 
 (2)  This rule applies to all pharmacy benefit managers operating 
in Utah on or after July 1, 2019. 
 
R590-282-3.  Licensing. 
 (1)(a)  To obtain or renew a pharmacy benefit manager license, 
the applicant shall: 
 (i)  submit the Utah Insurance Department Pharmacy Benefit 
Manager Application and the required attachments; and 
 (ii)  pay the fees in accordance with R590-102. 
 (b)  The Utah Insurance Department Pharmacy Benefit Manager 
Application is available on the Department's website at 
https://insurance.utah.gov. 
 (2)(a)  The licensing period begins on April 1 of each year and 
ends on March 31 of the following year. 
 (b)  A license for which a renewal license application is not 
received by the commissioner before April 1 will be considered to 
have expired. 
 (4)  Any material changes in the information submitted in an 
application shall be reported to the commissioner no later than 30 
days after the day on which the information changes. 
 
R590-282-5.  Reporting Requirements. 
 (1)(a)  Beginning on April 1, 2020, and each year thereafter, 
a pharmacy benefit manager shall submit the Utah Pharmacy Benefit 
Manager Report. 
 (b)  The Utah Pharmacy Benefit Manager Report and its 
instructions are available on the Department's website. 
 (2)(a)  At least 30 days prior to publishing any data derived 
from the Utah Pharmacy Benefit Manager Report, the commissioner will 
email to each pharmacy benefit manager submitting data under 
Subsection (1), a general description of the data to be published. 
 (b)(i)  A pharmacy benefit manager may respond to the email by 
submitting the information specified in Subsection 
31A-46-301(3)(c)(ii) to the Health Research folder of the Department's 



secure file upload website at 
https://forms.uid.utah.gov/insurance/fileUploads/. 
 (ii)  Any response must be received within 30 days of the date 
of the email described in Subsection(2)(a). 
 
R590-282-6.  Penalties. 
 A person found to be in violation of this rule shall be subject 
to penalties as provided under Sections 31A-2-308 and 31A-46-401. 
 
R590-282-7.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing this rule 45 days from 
the rule's effective date. 
 
R590-282-8.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule or its application to any person 
or situation is held to be invalid, that invalidity shall not affect 
any other provision or application of this rule which can be given 
effect without the invalid provision or application, and to this end 
the provisions of this rule are declared to be severable. 
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