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Trusteed Reinsurance 
QUALIFICATION CHECK LIST 

 
Company Name   

 

Country of Domicile    

Date Organized    

 

NAIC Company #    

NAIC Group #      

NAIC Alien #    
 

Date Date 
Item  Received  Approved 

 

1. Application with Fee $1050 
 

2. Certificate of Compliance from domestic country    
 

3. Evidence that security factor is satisfied 
 

a.  Trust Agreement 
 

b.  Confirmation from Trustee 
 

4. Annual Statement 
 

5. Certificate of Assuming Insurer (form) 
 

6. List of all jurisdictions 
 

7. Financial Examination Report 
 
 
 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: 
 

Date Rec’d 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Date Approved   
 

Date Denied  Reason for Denial or withdrawal   
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APPLICATION INFORMATION FORM 
FOR RECOGNITION AS TRUSTEED REINSURER 
($1000 Fee Required With This Form R590-102-6) 

(E-Commerce Fee $50 R90-102-17) 
 

 
NAME OF INSURER     

 

Administrative Mailing Address:     

Street    

P O Box                                                                                                                          

City/State/Zip                                                                                                                 

Telephone Number                                                      

Annual Statement Contact 
 

Name of person to contact                                                                                             

Title                                                                                                                                 

Address, if different from above                                                                                      

Direct Phone Number                 -             -                       

U S Representative (if applicable)      

Title         

Address, if different from above        

Direct Phone Number     -   -    

Date organized       Country of Domicile      

NAIC Number Company    Group     

List date your company was placed on the roster of the International Insurers Department of the 
 

NAIC:    
 
 

Is this a subsidiary?  If so, list parent company:    
 

Is this a parent company?  If so, list insurance subsidiaries:    
 

List countries in which the company is an admitted, licensed insurer:    
 

List states in which company is a recognized Reinsurer:    
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STATE OF UTAH 

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
 

 
Requirements for an alien insurer seeking Status as a Trusteed Reinsurer in the State of Utah. 
Utah Insurance Code 31A-17-404 enclosed. 

 
The following items and statements must accompany your letter of request: 

 
1.         Application for Trusteed Reinsurer - The reinsurer must be an alien insurer. Fee is $1000 plus $50 

for e-commerce fee which must accompany application. 

 
2. Certificate of Compliance - An original certificate over the signature and seal of applicant’s 

regulatory authority showing that applicant is duly organized under the laws of such jurisdiction and is 
authorized to transact the business of insurance, Clarification of lines of authority if lines of authority 
are indicated by alphabet or number only. Certificate must not be older than three months. 

 
3. TRUST FACTOR - Evidence that the security factor described in 31A-17-404(6)(a) is satisfied by 

providing: 
 

a. Trust Agreement with initial application 
b. Changes made to trust agreement for renewal application 

c.     Confirmation from the Trustee disclosing preceding calendar year- 
end trust balance, summarizing the trust investments at the 
preceding calendar year-end, and the termination date of the trust, 
if trust termination is planned, or that the trust shall not expire prior 
to the next December 31. 

 
4. Annual Statement - the most recent filing, including substantially the same information as that required 

of authorized insurers, on the National Association of Insurance Commissioners Annual Statement form 
described in Section 31A-4-113 of the Utah Insurance Code. This Statement shall be submitted with the 
initial application and no later than March 1 of each renewal year.   Statement shall have original 
signatures. 

 
5. Certificate of Assuming Insurer   - (form enclosed) must include name and address of 

designated person to whom Commissioner shall forward all legal processes against this 
company served upon him. 

 
6. List of all jurisdictions - A statement listing all jurisdictions in which the applicant has applied for 

recognized status to conduct a reinsurance business and dates and results of those applications. 

 
7.         Financial Examination Report - or other report of regulatory authority in which company is authorized. 

 

 
The Order Granting Status as Trusteed Reinsurer is granted for the period ending March 1 of the 
subsequent year, subject to annual renewal thereafter following the terms and conditions set forth in the 
Order.  An Invoice will be sent to the reinsurer for renewal.  It is the responsibility of the reinsurer to 
renew the application and submit the documents required in Utah Insurance Code Section 31A-17-404. 
Annual fee $500. E-Commerce Technology fee $50. 
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CERTIFICATE OF ASSUMING INSURER 

 
1.    , 

(name of officer) (title of officer) 
of                                                                                                                  , the assuming insurer 

(name of assuming insurer) 
under a reinsurance agreement(s) with one or more insurers domiciled in the State of Utah, hereby 

 
certify that    (Assuming Insurer) 

(name of assuming insurer) 
 
1.        Submits to the Jurisdiction of any court of competent jurisdiction in the State of Utah for the 
adjudication of any issues arising out of the reinsurance agreement(s), agrees to comply with all 
requirements necessary to give such court jurisdiction, and will abide by the final decision of such court 
or any appellate court in the event of an appeal.  Nothing in this paragraph constitutes or should be 

understood to constitute a waiver of Assuming Insurer’s rights to commence an action in any court of 

competent jurisdiction in the United States, to remove an action to a United States District Court, or to 
seek a transfer of a case to another court as permitted by the laws of the United States or of any state 
in the United States.  This paragraph is not intended to conflict with or override the obligation of the 
parties to the reinsurance agreement(s) to arbitrate their disputes if such an obligation is created in the 
agreement(s). 

 
2. Designates the Insurance Commissioner of the State of Utah as its lawful attorney upon whom 
may be served any lawful process in any action, suit or proceeding arising out of the reinsurance 
agreements(s) instituted by or on behalf of the ceding insurer.  We designate (name & complete 

 

address)                                                                                                                                                  
 

   as the person to 

whom the Commissioner shall forward all legal processes against this company served upon him. 

 

3. Submits to the authority of the Insurance Commissioner of the State of Utah to examine its 
books and records and agrees to bear the expense of any such examination. 

 
4.        Submits with this form a current list of insurers domiciled in the State of Utah reinsured by 
Assuming Insurer, and undertakes to submit additions to or deletions from the list to the Insurance 
Commissioner at least once per calendar year. 

 
Dated:    

(name of assuming insurer) 
 

By:  
(Signature of officer) 

 

(Title of officer) 


