Prometric’s Utah testing centers reopened on June 1, 2020, and normal licensing procedures resumed on the same date. Please see Commissioner Order 2020-3 for more information.
Individual and Organization licenses are valid for 2 years.
Individual: The department uses a birth month renewal system. Individual licenses have a birth-month renewal/expiration date every two (2) years. For a new license, the first renewal date may be anywhere from 24 to 35 months from the new license issue date and will fall on the last day of his or her birth month. Thereafter, renewals will then continue to be every two years at the end of the licensee’s birth month.
Agency: Agency licenses expire every 2 years from the date of issuance, on the last day of the month.
Examination and Licensing Procedures
Candidates may not submit a license application prior to taking any required examination. We do not review criminal history prior to application. License applications are to be submitted after successfully passing any required examinations.
Examinations are administered by Prometric. Upon completing the exam registration, either online or over the phone and paying the exam fee to Prometric, Prometric will inform the candidate of where the exam may be taken and how to schedule the exam appointment. The easiest way to register for the exam is online through Prometric’s website. You may also call Prometric at (888) 226-8740. If a candidate fails an exam, they must re-register and pay the fee to Prometric again.
Individuals with a Criminal Conviction
An individual with a criminal conviction involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty is not eligible to apply for an insurance license for a certain period of time. See R590-281-4(1).
An individual who has been convicted of violating the federal Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, 18 U.S.C. Sec. 1033, or who has been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or breach of trust, may not apply for a license without first obtaining written consent from the Utah Insurance Commissioner to engage or participate in the business of insurance.
- Licensing Bulletin
- Study Materials
- Licensing Procedures
- Transferring from Another State
- Fee Schedule
- Testing Sites