Skip to content
Menu
Utah Insurance

Exam & Licensing Procedures: Transferring from Another State

Within 90 days of relocating to Utah

Step 1: Cancel your license in the previous resident state and your non-resident license in Utah. You cannot apply for a resident license in Utah if you still have a resident license in any other state or a non-resident license in Utah.

Step 2: Apply for a resident license at www.sircon.com/utah or www.nipr.com and print out your confirmation.

Step 3: Go to a PSI test center during the fingerprint walk-in hours. Take the confirmation/receipt printout from your application with you to PSI.

Step 4: Pay the $20 PSI processing fee, made payable by money order, cashier’s check, company check, Visa, or MasterCard.

Step 5: Send proof of having established Utah residency, within the previous 90 days, via fax (801-538-3830) or as an email attachment to Heidi Petermann at hpetermann@utah.gov. This can be a copy of your Utah driver’s license, lease/rental agreement/mortgage closing, or major utility bill with the connection dates. Your name is required to be on the form of proof submitted.

*Electronic applications are generally processed within 5-10 business days once we have all required information (application, fees, and fingerprints completed). Please note research of the fingerprints may cause a delay. We are required to allow 30 days for BCI/FBI to process fingerprints. If it has been more than 10 working days, you may contact hpetermann@utah.gov to inquire if additional information is needed.

Within 90 to 365 days of relocating to Utah

Step 1: Cancel your license in your previous resident state. We WILL NOT issue a resident license here unless your previous license is inactive.

Step 2: Establish residency in Utah.

Step 3: Register for the Utah Laws & Regulations exam appointment through PSI. You may register online at PSI or by calling 1-800-733-9267.

Step 4: Take and pass the Laws and Regulations exam.

Step 5: While at the testing center, apply for your license online through Sircon and pay the required fees. There are kiosks set up at PSI to complete the application. *PRINT THE RECEIPT AT THE END OF THE TRANSACTION, SHOWING THE CONFIRMATION NUMBER AND PROOF THAT FEES HAVE BEEN PAID. You will need this to be fingerprinted.

Step 6: Get fingerprinted before you leave the testing center.

Step 7: Send proof of having established Utah residency, within the previous 90 to 360 days, via fax (801-538-3830) or as an email attachment to Heidi Petermann at hpetermann@utah.gov. This can be a copy of your Utah driver’s license, lease/rental agreement/ mortgage closing, or a utility bill showing the connection date. Utility bills include water/sewer, gas or electricity. Your name is required to be on the proof of residency that is submitted.

*Electronic applications are generally processed within 5-10 business days once we have all required information (application, fees, and fingerprints completed). Please note research of the fingerprints may cause a delay. We are required to allow 30 days for BCI/FBI to process fingerprints. If it has been more than 10 working days, you may contact hpetermann@utah.gov to inquire if additional information is needed.

After 365 Days

Take the proper exams and apply as a first-time applicant. Please see Exam and Licensing Procedures.