Skip to content
Menu
Utah Insurance
UID news

Public Meeting Regarding Insurance Testing — August 23, 2018 at 3pm

PSI and representatives from the Utah Insurance Department will hold a webinar to discuss the testing program for insurance licenses. The objective of the webinar is to discuss the recently completed Exam Review Committee findings, review any exam content outline changes, view current exam pass rate statistics, and obtain feedback from any interested parties.

The pertinent information regarding the events is listed below. Please RSVP to Jason McCartney at jmccartney@psionline.com no later than Thursday, August 16, 2018.

WEBINAR DATE: Thursday, August 23, 2018 from 3-4 pm MST

Prior to the event, if you have any questions please contact Jason McCartney at jmccartney@psionline.com or 800-367-1565 x7318.

 

Attachment
Public Meeting Webinar Regarding Insurance License Testing

UID news

Public Meeting Regarding Insurance Testing — August 17, 2017 at 1pm

PSI and representatives from the Utah Insurance Department will hold a webinar to discuss the testing program for insurance licenses. The objective of the webinar is to discuss the recently completed Exam Review Committee findings, review any exam content outline changes, view current exam pass rate statistics, and obtain feedback from any interested parties.

The pertinent information regarding the events is listed below. Please RSVP no later than Friday, August 11, 2017.

WEBINAR DATE: August 17, 2017 from 1:00 p.m. MST to 2:00 p.m. MST

Please RSVP at: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/ZMLFFJF

Prior to the event, if you have any questions please contact Jason McCartney at jmccartney@psionline.com or 800-367-1565 x7318.

Attachment
Public Meeting Webinar Regarding Insurance License Testing

FBI Background Check Fee Reduced

Effective October 1, 2016 the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) will implement new fees for the fingerprint-based criminal history checks that occur during the license application process. The fee to obtain an FBI federal background check will be reduced to $12, down from $14.75. This fee is collected during the application process, along with the $20 Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) fee.

Should you have any questions about the fingerprint fees or the how to apply for a license, please call the department’s Producer Licensing Division at (801) 538-3855.

HB205 Veteran Claim Assistance Disclosure

Utah Insurance Producer/Consultant,

This letter is to inform you of state and federal laws regarding providing VA claims assistance to veterans. A new state law effective July 1, 2015, H.B. 205, Veteran Claim Assistance Disclosure, stipulates that you must disclose in writing the federal laws, regulations, and rules governing assistance for VA benefits whenever providing assistance for VA benefits to military veterans.

As insurance producers and consultants sell and give advice to veterans, it is essential that you are aware of and in compliance with Title 38 Veterans’ Benefits C.F.R (Code of Federal Regulations). These regulations govern individuals providing VA claims assistance and the representation of VA claimants to ensure those veterans have responsible, qualified representation in the preparation, presentation, and prosecution of claims for veterans’ benefits. Federal law restricts charging a veteran, or a member of the veteran’s family, a fee for assisting in the initial application for VA benefits.

Any individual providing VA benefits claims assistance must be accredited by the VA, and must complete a required disclosure form. This disclosure form, when complete, must be signed by both you and the VA claimant; retained by you for three years, and copies provided to the veteran on the day the form is completed and to the Utah Department of Military Affairs (UDVMA) within five working days. The only authorized disclosure format for this requirement is UDVMA Form 1. More information and an electronic link to UDVMA Form 1 and to H.B. 205 can be found at: http://veterans.utah.gov/va-benefits-claims-assistance/.

For more information on how to become accredited and to find contact information for the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, please visit the VA’s website located at: http://www.va.gov/ogc/accreditation.asp. Additionally, the Utah Department of Veterans & Military Affairs can be contacted for possible assistance at 801-326-2372 or veterans@utah.gov.

To those providing VA claims benefit assistance, thank you for serving Utah’s veterans.

Sincerely,

Producer Licensing Division

Letter
H.B. 205 Veteran Claim Assistance Disclosure